Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

1991 Toyota Pickup Clutch Pedal Help

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2011, 03:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 1991 Toyota Pickup Clutch Pedal Help

Hello guys and gals, I'm new to Yotatech, but I've seen a lot of articles in the past and this site seems to be the best out there for a guy like me.

I have a 1991 Toyota Pick SR5 3ZVE that has been giving me some trouble. A few days ago I started having issues shifting into 1st/Rev, so I went to go inspect under the hood. The clutch master cylinder had fairly dark DOT3 in it, so I decided to flush the old crud out. I hooked up a venturi vacuum brake bleeder to the bleed valve on the slave cylinder, opened the valve, and got all of the old stuff out. Next I took the line off of the master, blew it out, filled the reservoir, and primed up the master cylinder. I then reattached the hose and opened the bleeder on the slave and vacuumed fluid through until there were no more bubbles (all the while keeping the reservoir at level). Next, uh-oh! Clutch pedal only comes up half way and I can't even shift. I then talked to a guy down at Advance Auto Parts and he said it sounds like the slave cylinder went bad. So I went ahead and bought a new slave, installed it, bled the system, but still nothing! I bled it again using the old Buddy Method (as prescribed in my manual) but still no dice. Clutch pedal is only going about half way and I'm feeling little resistance. I can see the slave cylinder move when the pedal is pressed, and when I clamp off the slave, the pedal feels mushy. Any ideas? Thank you much.
Old 07-13-2011, 04:05 PM

Received 273 Likes on 184 Posts
the clutch pedal bracket has a real tendance to crack ..

take a light and check it out

Old 07-13-2011, 04:06 PM