Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

1987 22RE- reman AFM fails same to original?

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2012, 05:43 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
1987 22RE- reman AFM fails same to original?

Mr. Brown (and Yotatech),

First off let me say that your cheap tricks/repairs website for Toyota 4Runners is excellent! I've been using it for a few years now.

I switched from carburetion to fuel injection about a year ago and recently the 22RE has been acting... funny, so with the aid of both your website and the 1985 FSM I have been probing all EFI components (which led to a TPS adjustment along the way).

My AFM failed the static resistance test between E2 & VB terminals. The FSM shows that the only difference between the VB and VC terminals is the addition of a second resistor for the VB terminal (I tested VB to VC and found that THAT additional resistor works to some degree but as there is no specified value in the FSM... all I can say is that it has ~100 ohms of resistance).

I ordered an Oreilly's remanufactured AFM and tested it prior to installation... sure enough it fails the EXACT SAME TEST (E2-VB).

In short, I am hoping you are willing to provide some feedback based on the above information and the following two questions:

1) Could I be testing this wrong? The FSM lists the spec range in full ohms (as opposed to k ohms). I am not an EE so please excuse any incorrect use of terminology. I have been testing using "full ohms" (the 200 selection under the resistance section of my multimeter). Funny thing is that it does register resistance under k ohms, but the FSM does nto specify for k ohms. Am I testing correctly and received a defective reman unit? Or am I testing incorrectly?