Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

1986 Brake Problem: Fading Brake Pedal

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2009, 01:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1986 Brake Problem: Fading Brake Pedal

Hi,
Was wondering if someone could help? I replaced both rear wheel brake cylinders, brake shoes and hardware and bled the 4 wheels, but I get fading pedal travel when 1st applying the brakes on the road test. I cleaned the internal surfaces and components with brake cleaner and made sure the adjustment screw and mechanism were working properly. My emergency brake hasn't worked for a long time and it appears the linkage in both wheels is frozen up and a linkage component has been removed to render the e-brake useless. No problem, I just thought I would mention this, but I don't think it has any bearing on the problem. I have a hunch it may be the master cylinder. 1986 (non-turbo) truck is old plenty of rust basically a beater but great for fishing, hunting and getting off the beaten path.

Prior to the brake job I noticed the rear brakes would lock up if I applied them with urgency. Later I had a rear driver's side wheel cylinder fail and I had total brake failure. I thought the master cylinder was a 2 circuit MC that would prevent total brake loss? Looking at it, it appears to have 2 circuits, or at least 2 lines exiting the MC side. My guess is that the 2 internal pistons seals are not functioning and they have come in contact with each other and are acting like one single piston essentially making it a one circuit system.