86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

1986 4runner idle/ignition system issues

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2013, 12:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1986 4runner idle/ignition system issues

I'd like to begin by stating that this site and its members are amazing and so helpful. I have read so many threads over the years on here. I have been a ghost till now, because (probably due to my ill fated search attempts) I cannot find a solution to my current issue. I will probably list too much detail in some areas and not enough in others because I am by no means a mechanic, I can though follow directions and guidance.

I purchased an 86 model 4runner with a 22RE. It has a manual transmission. When I purchased the 4runner, the previous owner told me that it was only used for getting to and fro his hunting camp. He then went on to say that he normally used a fuel additive in between seasons. He confessed to not doing so this most recent time and led to his current issue. Wouldn't run. His neighborhood mechanic guy said that it was the fuel system and that he needed to replace the injectors and filter. He bought the parts but said he didn't know how to replace them and wished to sell it. So I took a chance and gambled that this was its only problems and bought it since it had only 97k miles. My uncle and I installed the injectors, fuel filter, dropped the tank and cleaned it, and tested the fuel pump. Fired right up!! I drove it for a few weeks maybe two months and had a problem. I'm an engineering major and had to leave for school. In the months away, my uncle had friends look at it but they couldn't/can't figure out the problem.