84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd gen pickups and 1st gen 4Runners with solid front axles

Fuel Pump Mounting Bracket Woes

Old 09-23-2015, 11:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Fuel Pump Mounting Bracket Woes

Greetings! Ive been lurking on this site for years but never has something stumped me to the point of needing to actually post! Ive searched and searched and maybe its because Im a retarded newbie but didnt come up with anything and seriously hoping someone reads this and takes pity on my wretched soul.

So I picked up a '85 4runner on whim a few months back to replace a mostly stock '95 Tacoma as a camping/trail rig and realizing I should have listened to my gut when it came time to buy. I was told the truck had been sitting a "couple years" but after crawling under the thing I knew it had been longer. I bought it anyways and after pulling the tank and looking inside realized this truck had probably been sitting closer to 8 years and maybe more. The inside of the tank and everything related looked like it had been sitting on the bottom of the Atlantic since Reagan was waging war on an invincible enemy and I was still rolling around in a dirty diaper. I immediately got online and ordered everything I figured I would need only to find out after the fact that the fuel pump mounting bracket and sending unit are perma out-of-stock with every Toyota dealer in the world (trust me, I called, a lot) and now Im stuck with a tank and possibly the right pump but nothing else. From what Ive found there were 2 tanks, a 17 gal and a 14.8ish gal. Ive been able to find parts for the larger of the tanks but not the smaller. I would like to keep the smaller of the 2 tanks as the larger hangs about an additional 2" below my frame rail when mounted and as you all know when on the rocks the 4runner fuel tanks get caught up quicker than a little league team at a NAMBLA meeting, so Ill take all the extra clearance I can get.

Has anyone else run into this problem?