84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd gen pickups and 1st gen 4Runners with solid front axles

'84 exhaust header: advice please

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2015, 07:20 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'84 exhaust header: advice please

It's a 1984 2.4L carb 4x4 pickup with about 200,00 miles. I bought it when new 31 years ago, never did much work on it. Started getting coolant leakage to the oil, so decided to do a timing chain/cover replacement and put on a new head gasket.

I'm no mechanic, but I'm trying to do a full desmog. Ripped all emissions tubing off, pulled off the intake manifold (with carb attached) and loosened off the (original) exhaust manifold. I invested $300 in a refurbished cylinder head which I'm waiting to receive in the mail, and I'm currently trying to clean old gasket material off the engine block.

My question is about the exhaust. The old manifold is pretty rusty and old. Should I put a header on there? Or might it be okay to clean-up the old manifold? I've been shopping online a bit, but cant figure out which header (which part number) would be correct for the vehicle. The LCE headers look great, but might be a bit beyond my price range.
Old 08-19-2015, 01:30 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
The pacesetter is cheap but the gasket sucks. LCE are apparently worth every penny. Look into a hooker. Are you wanting longevity or sound?
Old 08-19-2015, 03:35 PM

Originally Posted by bootscootboogie
The pacesetter is cheap but the gasket sucks. LCE are apparently worth every penny. Look into a hooker. Are you wanting longevity or sound?
Thanks very much for your reply!

I will look again at Hooker. I wasn't sure about the quality of Pacesetter.

Basically I want something easy to install, that's solid and won't wiggle off or be leaky, and maybe would give a little extra horsepower over the factory manifold.
Old 08-20-2015, 09:06 AM

Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts