84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd gen pickups and 1st gen 4Runners with solid front axles

22re short block builders?

Old 12-20-2016, 10:17 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
22re short block builders?

Hello, sorry newbie here so hope this is an ok section to ask this in. Ive got a 1985 toyota pickup that decided to throw a rod through the engine block last night. Im looking for a rebuilt or new short block since I have an eng bldrs head and cam thats only about 8k old. I wanted to see if you guys had any suggestions of what companies put out a good short block or which ones to stay away from. Im looking at a bugdet of around 1500. I have considered finding a used 22re and rebuilding it but currently dont have much spare time or a good location to rebuild it at. I like the 22re and for simplicity sake Im planning on putting another one in even though a v6 swap would be nice I just dont have the ability to do that right now.
Couple of companies Ive found online are:
22re performance. They seem good but pricey and say the engines are a 24 week lead time.
toyotatruckengine.com which I've read bad things about
Yotashop.com read some good things but a little pricey maybe?
Lce engineering read good things but again, pricey

If theres any others you would recommend that would be great. Thanks
Attached Thumbnails 22re short block builders?-20161219_184634.jpg  

Last edited by jhsantacruz63; 12-20-2016 at 10:18 AM.
Old 12-20-2016, 10:39 AM

Another company I talked to was Davez Offroad Performance. I read some good things about them too, any opinions?
Old 12-20-2016, 11:20 AM

Received 598 Likes on 438 Posts
If you can't build one yourself, Its gonna cost you $$ for quality.

Last short block I built cost me $200 for the core(but I got a nice, uncorroded, genuine Toyota head too), $450 for boring and decking the block+ grinding the crank, and about $350 for NPR pistons and rings, OSK timing set+Aisin timing cover and oil pump and King rod and main bearings.