YotaTech Forums  

Go Back   YotaTech Forums > Electronics > Computer Talk
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Computer Talk Discussions here pertain to mods, troubleshooting, and PC/console gaming

Welcome to Yotatech!
Welcome to Yotatech,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-22-2007, 12:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
msw0085's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southlake/Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 1,982
Send a message via AIM to msw0085
Need help deciphering an error

I just bought and installed the first computer game I have bought in probably 8 years. I installed it "sucessfully" and restarted my computer. Now when I try to start the game, I get the following message:

"Loading error - Dilplay mode 1024x768x8 not found. Cossacks should not run."

I can either hit retry or cancel.

When I hit retry, I get: "Direct Draw Init failed (80004001)"

Im not a computer whiz by any stretch, but do yall know how to fix it or get it to work?

I thought from the first message that it had to do with my resolution not being 1024x768, so I changed it and it did not solve the problem.
This ad is not displayed to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Yotatech!
msw0085 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 01:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
msw0085's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southlake/Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 1,982
Send a message via AIM to msw0085
bump?
msw0085 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 01:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Morphine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Moreno Valley, Ca
Posts: 571
Send a message via AIM to Morphine Send a message via Yahoo to Morphine
Ok this may sound odd but some games use 8bit color schemes for textures and mapping. If your graphics card doesn't support this "low" color scheme there isn't anything I know of to do. First let's check and see what color depths are available to us. 8bit color should/could also be considered 256color.

Right click on your desktop in an unused are and select properties.
Then on the "Display Properties" windows select the tab titled "Settings".
Now in here check the color deph sectin and see if you have an option for 8bit or 256 colors.
You most likely only show 16 bit and 32 bit color.

If this is the case I'll check and see how to "unhide" these other display modes for you. Also do you know what graphics card you are using and also are the drivers up to date? Let me know if this all makes sense or i can go slower or faster you tell me.

-=Morphine=-
__________________
'91 v6 3.0L 4x4 Pickup. Oversized Valves, Ceramic Downey Headers, K&N Cone Filter Knock off, ISR Mod, Pro Comps 33x12.50x15's, 2" BL, Skyjacker Steering Stabilizer,Bilstein's in the corners, Acura Bucket Seats, Custom dye'd Black carpet!
Stereo: Pioneer DEH-P7600MP HU, 4" 2-way Pioneer TS-G1040R, 6.5" 4-way Pioneer TS-A1681R, Sub in progress!!
Morphine is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 01:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
msw0085's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southlake/Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 1,982
Send a message via AIM to msw0085
Thanks for the response, and yes I am keeping up with you. I can only select 32 or 16 bit quality. The driver is ATI FireGL T2. I was in the process of checking to make sure it was up to date when I saw your post, but I know that my configuration is set to "auto-update."
msw0085 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 01:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Morphine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Moreno Valley, Ca
Posts: 571
Send a message via AIM to Morphine Send a message via Yahoo to Morphine
Additional info on your PC might help also.
what OS? Windows XP?
Do you have Service Pack 2 running?
The game itself....is it Cossacks?

One more tip i just read was to change the programs compatability mode to run as if it were in Windows 98. To do this:

Find the shortcut on your desktop or start menu for the game.
Right click it and select "Properties"
In he new window that opens select the "Compatabiity" tab.
Check the check box that states "Run in Compatabilty mode"
In the drop down list select Windows 98.
Click Apply and ok, try the game again

-=Morphine=-
__________________
'91 v6 3.0L 4x4 Pickup. Oversized Valves, Ceramic Downey Headers, K&N Cone Filter Knock off, ISR Mod, Pro Comps 33x12.50x15's, 2" BL, Skyjacker Steering Stabilizer,Bilstein's in the corners, Acura Bucket Seats, Custom dye'd Black carpet!
Stereo: Pioneer DEH-P7600MP HU, 4" 2-way Pioneer TS-G1040R, 6.5" 4-way Pioneer TS-A1681R, Sub in progress!!
Morphine is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 01:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Morphine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Moreno Valley, Ca
Posts: 571
Send a message via AIM to Morphine Send a message via Yahoo to Morphine
One more quick thing (found this on another forum).

1) Renaming the Video folder in the game directory to Video1.
2) Setting your screen resolution to 1024*768 (this is the default setting for the game).

Can't hurt to try atleast.

-=Morphine=-
__________________
'91 v6 3.0L 4x4 Pickup. Oversized Valves, Ceramic Downey Headers, K&N Cone Filter Knock off, ISR Mod, Pro Comps 33x12.50x15's, 2" BL, Skyjacker Steering Stabilizer,Bilstein's in the corners, Acura Bucket Seats, Custom dye'd Black carpet!
Stereo: Pioneer DEH-P7600MP HU, 4" 2-way Pioneer TS-G1040R, 6.5" 4-way Pioneer TS-A1681R, Sub in progress!!
Morphine is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 01:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
msw0085's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southlake/Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 1,982
Send a message via AIM to msw0085
Its an HP workstation xw4100 running XP. The game is not cossacks, but after I get those messages it prompts me to submit a bug report. When I submit it, the URL reads http://www.cossacks2.ru/catchbug.php So i guess cossacks is some program they use to maintain their service..i dont know. I dont know what service pack 2 is.

Thanks a ton for your help, by the way.
msw0085 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 01:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Morphine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Moreno Valley, Ca
Posts: 571
Send a message via AIM to Morphine Send a message via Yahoo to Morphine
Here is what Microsoft has to say about using lower color settings for some games and how to do it. Again it's a quick change in the compatibility setup.

http://www.microsoft.com/resources/d....mspx?mfr=true

-=Morphine=-
__________________
'91 v6 3.0L 4x4 Pickup. Oversized Valves, Ceramic Downey Headers, K&N Cone Filter Knock off, ISR Mod, Pro Comps 33x12.50x15's, 2" BL, Skyjacker Steering Stabilizer,Bilstein's in the corners, Acura Bucket Seats, Custom dye'd Black carpet!
Stereo: Pioneer DEH-P7600MP HU, 4" 2-way Pioneer TS-G1040R, 6.5" 4-way Pioneer TS-A1681R, Sub in progress!!
Morphine is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 01:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Morphine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Moreno Valley, Ca
Posts: 571
Send a message via AIM to Morphine Send a message via Yahoo to Morphine
No problem for the help, it's what I do for a living

Service Pack 2 is an Update that Microsoft put out a while ago for there Windows XP Operating system. You can check nd see if you have it by right clicking on "My computer' on the desktop and selecting "properties". The properties window will display your Operating system as well as what if any service packs are installed.

-=Morphine=-
__________________
'91 v6 3.0L 4x4 Pickup. Oversized Valves, Ceramic Downey Headers, K&N Cone Filter Knock off, ISR Mod, Pro Comps 33x12.50x15's, 2" BL, Skyjacker Steering Stabilizer,Bilstein's in the corners, Acura Bucket Seats, Custom dye'd Black carpet!
Stereo: Pioneer DEH-P7600MP HU, 4" 2-way Pioneer TS-G1040R, 6.5" 4-way Pioneer TS-A1681R, Sub in progress!!
Morphine is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 01:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
msw0085's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southlake/Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 1,982
Send a message via AIM to msw0085
Neither changing the compatibility to Win98 nor the colors to 256 has any effect. Let me try renaming the file.
msw0085 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 01:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
msw0085's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southlake/Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 1,982
Send a message via AIM to msw0085
I have service pack 2.
msw0085 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 01:46 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Morphine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Moreno Valley, Ca
Posts: 571
Send a message via AIM to Morphine Send a message via Yahoo to Morphine
Have you checked the game manufacturers website for any patches? I followed the link for the bug report you posted and changed the ".ru" to a ".com" and got to their English site. It appears to be a war game of sorts. Sorry not a gmaer here.

But they have a section that has "patches" to download and install and fix minor and major bug fixes. The game should have a website that we can check for a patch, possibly even for your issue.

-=Morphine=-
__________________
'91 v6 3.0L 4x4 Pickup. Oversized Valves, Ceramic Downey Headers, K&N Cone Filter Knock off, ISR Mod, Pro Comps 33x12.50x15's, 2" BL, Skyjacker Steering Stabilizer,Bilstein's in the corners, Acura Bucket Seats, Custom dye'd Black carpet!
Stereo: Pioneer DEH-P7600MP HU, 4" 2-way Pioneer TS-G1040R, 6.5" 4-way Pioneer TS-A1681R, Sub in progress!!
Morphine is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 01:47 PM   #13 (permalink)
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
msw0085's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southlake/Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 1,982
Send a message via AIM to msw0085
I renamed the video file to video1 and changed the reso to 1024x768..


I know on other programs or games I have played it usually changed the resolution automatically when I started it. If I cant get it to work, I am sure I wont be able to return it to Best Buy now that I have opened it.
msw0085 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 01:51 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Morphine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Moreno Valley, Ca
Posts: 571
Send a message via AIM to Morphine Send a message via Yahoo to Morphine
Best Buy's software policy is for open titles within the return period to return it for the same title or another title at the same price or you pay the difference). You can also ask the Geek Squad to install it on one of there systems there and see if it does the same thing. If it does they will happily return your money, most likely on a gift card.

I know I work for the Geek Squad!!!!
-=Morphine=-
__________________
'91 v6 3.0L 4x4 Pickup. Oversized Valves, Ceramic Downey Headers, K&N Cone Filter Knock off, ISR Mod, Pro Comps 33x12.50x15's, 2" BL, Skyjacker Steering Stabilizer,Bilstein's in the corners, Acura Bucket Seats, Custom dye'd Black carpet!
Stereo: Pioneer DEH-P7600MP HU, 4" 2-way Pioneer TS-G1040R, 6.5" 4-way Pioneer TS-A1681R, Sub in progress!!
Morphine is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 02:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
msw0085's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southlake/Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 1,982
Send a message via AIM to msw0085
well i sent a troubleshoot request to the website. we'll see what happens. I have too much schoolwork to do this week anyway.
msw0085 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 02:20 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Morphine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Moreno Valley, Ca
Posts: 571
Send a message via AIM to Morphine Send a message via Yahoo to Morphine
Alright, well good luck with it and let me know if I can help later on if need be.

-=Morphine=-
__________________
'91 v6 3.0L 4x4 Pickup. Oversized Valves, Ceramic Downey Headers, K&N Cone Filter Knock off, ISR Mod, Pro Comps 33x12.50x15's, 2" BL, Skyjacker Steering Stabilizer,Bilstein's in the corners, Acura Bucket Seats, Custom dye'd Black carpet!
Stereo: Pioneer DEH-P7600MP HU, 4" 2-way Pioneer TS-G1040R, 6.5" 4-way Pioneer TS-A1681R, Sub in progress!!
Morphine is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 02:20 PM
Yotatech
4WD Truck




Paid Advertisement
Reply

Tags
1024x768x8, 80004001, cossack, cossacks, dilplay, direct, directdraw, display, draw, failed, found, init, mode, problem, run

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
p0031 CEL ERROR kevin444 99+ Tundra, 00+ Sequoia, 98+ Land Cruiser/LX470 0 04-19-2007 05:33 PM
MTR Tire Code Deciphering Cebby Tires & Wheels 9 08-25-2005 11:05 AM
Error! sherri_girl Computer Talk 2 07-27-2005 03:48 PM
IE error messages... VolcomTacoma Off Topic Talk 7 02-03-2004 08:35 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:21 AM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2