GPS & Communication Discussions here pertain to the use and troubleshooting of GPS, CB radio, and amateur radio

Radio and Antenna Basics

Old 11-16-2010, 06:03 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Radio and Antenna Basics

Throughout my search for other peoples ham radio or CB radio installation locations, I've noticed many many misconceptions involving antennas and just radio in general. So I figured I would start a thread of basic antenna theory, and also get some feedback on other peoples rigs/gear.

I'm a Ham radio operator (KF7FPH), Electrical Engineering student, and truck driver. I've had my experience with radios for a while and have a decent understanding of how they work fundamentally. With proper install considerations and tuning. Most CBs will transmit 5 or more miles in a state like MI, lots of rolling hills and trees. On my rigs I've been known to keep in contact with other trucks for 12miles...and I had the shortest firesticks on the market.

For good CB performance, the number one most important piece of equipment you have is your antenna. This is for 2 reasons. CB falls in the HF band, also the FCC limits the power to something like 5W, so if you have even just a couple dB of attenuation your ability to transmit any significant distance drops dramatically. I could go into detail on modulation improvements, peak power vs. RMS, tuning etc. But not worth it here. For lack of a better way, I shall just bullet point some common issues/misconceptions, general ideas to follow.

- Dual antennas are NOT always better. Dual antennas give you a couple of dBi of gain in front of your vehicle and in the rear. They also attenuate signals coming from the sides. In the KW I drove this made sense to have dual antennas b/c I mostly used it for highway. For off highway or 4x4 use, a single antenna will offer equal propagation all around.
- For those of you who do want dual antennas, referred to as co-phased antennas, keep in mind these things.