Vehicle Audio & Home Entertainment Discussions here pertain to vehicle stereo systems and home entertainment systems

Replacement Speakers - 92 Toyota Picked Extended Cab? Brand New to Audio

Old 08-07-2013, 08:30 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Replacement Speakers - 92 Toyota Picked Extended Cab? Brand New to Audio

Hi there,

I am completely new to speakers / audio, and am looking for some points on where to learn what I need. At the end of the day, if someone could suggest a place I can go to read and learn about this stuff (beginner level that's applicable to my truck), that would be awesome. I bought a Haynes manual, but it doesn't mention a damn thing about speakers, so I don't really know where to start. If this is something I should just take to some car audio place to have them fix instead, let me know that, too please. I am capable of taking some stuff apart and putting it back together, but I am starting with zero audio experience.

My problem: I have a 92 Toyota Pickup Extended Cab truck. Ever since I got it a few years ago, the only speaker that ever worked is the right passenger (in the door?) speaker. And that one crackles and pops a LOT whenever anything with any bass is played on the stock radio (which is my only audio unit).

I'm not trying to do anything fancy, I just want both speakers to work and not pop. I'm assuming since it's an old vehicle the left speaker died, and the right one is on it's way and that is why it can't do bass sound? So I guess I need to replace them.

I've been reading the threads here, and some folks said to go to Crutchfield site to find what speaker types I need. Unfortunately, I get to the last part where it asks if the truck has:
  • a 2 inch tall radio opening
  • a 4 inch tall radio opening; vehicle made in Japan
  • a 4 inch tall radio opening; vehicle made in United States