remote turn on for amp to factory radio? - YotaTech Forums


Go Back   > >


Vehicle Audio & Home Entertainment Discussions here pertain to vehicle stereo systems and home entertainment systems

remote turn on for amp to factory radio?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-17-2004, 07:27 PM   #1
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Thread Starter
 
skshepherd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 88
remote turn on for amp to factory radio?

Looks like what most folks have done is just run the remote turn on to a ignition switched 12v source, such as cigarette lighter, or somewhere in fuse box to turn amp on.


I have a 97 with the 3cd in dash changer with cassette and power antenna that only activates when tuner is on.

Is there any other way to turn an amp on besides the way listed above? I'd rather not have the amp on all the time the ignition is on, or has anyone had problems with this?


Thanks,
STeve
skshepherd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2004, 08:28 PM   #2
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
fooddude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Edmond OKlahoma
Posts: 747
Ive never heard of a way to connect the wire like that. The only way it would work if you had a 12v power source on your radio that could turn on or off. Why dont you want the amp always on when you have your car on.
fooddude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2004, 09:09 PM   #3
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,079
I would try taking it to a good audio shop to see what they say.

Mike06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2004, 06:31 PM   #4
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Thread Starter
 
skshepherd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 88
Yeah thats what I thought but after doing the search I found thats what many folks had done to add an amp to their existing factory stereo in their 4runners.


Has anyone who had done this had problems with the amp being on while the car was on but no imput going to it while radio was off?


Thanks,
Steve
skshepherd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 02:50 AM   #5
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Andrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,009
If you're using Toyota factory stereo, there is one wire there that will do 12v remote turn-on. I can't remember that color it is, but I think if you have the multimiter, you should be able to find that wire in no time.

-- Andrey
Andrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 04:26 AM   #6
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 71
Dont know if most amps are like this but a few ive owned turned off after a while if there was no signal going to the inputs.

Theyd mostly turn off when Id mute the radio for a long period of time. When id unmute, the subwoofer amp was always the last to power back up. There was about a two second delay.

Dont see why itd be bad to have the amp on if theres no sound. Id imagine it shouldnt be bad at all.....most people have their radios on ALL the time anyways.
kimchee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 04:36 AM   #7
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
cruizin01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mt. Vernon Ohio
Posts: 633
You dont really need 12 volts. A couple volts will turn the amp on but anyway, back in the day I had some ghetto setups where Id just wire the amp to a 12 volt source off the ignition. I dont remember having any ill effects. I would think there would be a turn-on wire for the antenna or something on your factory radio though.
cruizin01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 05:00 AM   #8
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Cebby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 11,199
Re: remote turn on for amp to factory radio?

Quote:
Originally posted by skshepherd
Looks like what most folks have done is just run the remote turn on to a ignition switched 12v source, such as cigarette lighter, or somewhere in fuse box to turn amp on.
Thanks,
STeve
That's the only way. Too bad the antenna goes down when you use the CD, cause that lead would work in most other (non-Toyota) vehicles.

You could always but a switch on the turn-on lead...
Cebby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 07:15 AM   #9
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Thread Starter
 
skshepherd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 88
Thats what I was thinking, put a switch inline. It is true the radio is on most of the time anyway and if for some reason we had it off for a while I could just flip the switch and shut amp down.


Anyone have the wire color codes for the factory 3cd/cass radio that came in 97?


Thanks guys!
skshepherd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 10:41 AM   #10
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: us mil germany
Posts: 402
david in germany

on the wireing harness there is a wire that controls the stock power antenna if you use this one the amp will shut down when the radio is off but here is the key. there is an open slot onthe connector on the radio (without a wire in it) if you go to salvage yard and get a harness out of another toyota it is simple.. take a really small regular screw driver and take any wire out of the salvaged harness. next take the voltage meter and find the antenna power (the power is off when the radio is off) nex to it right or left (can't remember off hand) there is an empty slot see if there is voltage, then turn off the stereo all together. Did the power go away? that is the one if the answer was yes! stick the salvaged wire into the harness at that point and make sure it is secure..... VIOLA swithched amp power.....
later all!
PS this works on the first generation decks too!
David
david in germany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 12:08 PM   #11
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MD
Posts: 194
In my g/f's 4Runner and in my Jeep I have the amp wired into a switch that is then wired into a ignition wire. That way the subs aren't always on. On my 4Runner I have the amp controlling the two rear speakers on a switch too since at times I only want to barely listen to the fronts.
fpkelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 02:22 AM   #12
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
ldivinag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: N37 39* W122 3*
Posts: 1,526
OEM factory wiring harness, check out pin #9. this is 90-95 wiring, spec for my 90 4runner. that is the antenna trigger for the antenna circuit/relay.

or for $34, do it the right and SAFE way:

http://www.davidnavone.com/detail.asp?PRODUCT_ID=N-902
ldivinag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2004, 08:37 PM   #13
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 13
the down fall to running your remote turn on lead straigt to an ignition source is that you will get that thump when you turn the truck on and off. this is not good for the amp or the speakers. the remote turn on lead is designed to turn the amp on after the deck is powerd up and shut it off before the deck shuts down to prevent that thump...hope this helps...
fastv6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 06:24 AM   #14
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
splitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 165
If you dont want to splice into anything or get a second factory harness, just run a lead to the fuse box, there are plenty of switched circuits to use.
splitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 08:43 AM   #15
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Exclamation Amp install for factory stereo on 4th Gen 4R

Hey all, Recently I've got my 07' 4Runner and now I have couple little ideas about my ride... and one of those is to put amp and sub in... it not that I don't like sound in it... it just needed some extra bass some time.. especially when I listen to D'n'B and lots of Trance and house music... so I have factory 6 speakers in, no sub... and I'm not sure If I have JBL... so I did a research and found out how to disassemble front and door panels ---> 4Runner stereo installation.pdf ...also if anybody needs I got circuit diagrams for 07' 4Runner ---> 2007 Toyota 4runner complete Diagrams.pdf ... anyway I am newbe to all of that but have kinda idea about all this... soooo... I did run 8 awg low loss wire for power through firewall and I got 10" JL Audio Sub in "Bassworx" sealed box... and 2 channel audison SRx2 amp (I got those for FrEe ) ... also I have wires that needed to be connected to factory harness...

...now question IS: which wires I need to connect to get it going?

I opened front door panels tonight and I'd seen which wire colors go to front left and right speakers... there are no coding on wiring so I'm not sure where is "+" and "-" ...
One more question... should I parallel connect amp to front or rear speakers???

Please help..

oh.. and I didn't decide yet where to mount amp :thanks:
Attached Thumbnails
remote turn on for amp to factory radio?-ampli-auto-audison-srx-2.jpg   remote turn on for amp to factory radio?-rsz_oleh_003.jpg   remote turn on for amp to factory radio?-rsz_oleh_009.jpg  
Ivoleg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Rebuild of Lucy. 1982 4X2 Standard Pickup jasonty Pre 84 Trucks (Build-Up Section) 37 09-09-2015 04:46 PM
Went to change cluster to LED, preformed open heart surgery. fun pic + help! Esibnitsud 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 11 07-30-2015 08:21 PM
Instrument panel fuse in Highlander keeps blowing rushw General Electrical & Lighting Related Topics 4 07-18-2015 01:46 PM
frigid zone options 79 80 msane99 Pre 84 Trucks 4 07-17-2015 10:13 AM
WTB[MidAtl]: WTB: 89-95 radio brackets/standard cab carpet 2wd mtb_taco Items Wanted 0 07-15-2015 08:36 AM


Tags
amp, antenna, cobalt, color, factory, lead, radio, remote, runner, stereo, toyota, turn, turning, turnon, wire

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:33 PM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.