Vehicle Audio & Home Entertainment Discussions here pertain to vehicle stereo systems and home entertainment systems

Newly Installed Amp, Speakers Whining

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2007, 02:55 PM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Newly Installed Amp, Speakers Whining

I had infinity speakers in my car when I bought it, but the amp was taken out. I put an amp in yesterday and cannot get rid of a high pitched whine through the speakers only when the car is on. I also had typical alternator whine but found that be from a bad ground (it's fixed now). Here's the situation, if the cars on and running I have the whine. When I unplug the two rca's for the front speakers from the amp the whining goes away, same for when I unplug just the rear rca's. If three or more are plugged in the whining returns. Any suggestions on how to get rid of it because I haven't found any.
Old 11-18-2007, 03:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
i'm not an expert by any means, but i think the signal wire might be right next to your wire to the battery.

let me know it if works
Old 11-18-2007, 03:52 PM

sorry, you might try running one set of wires on the passenger side and the other down the driver's side.
Old 11-18-2007, 03:53 PM

yeah, if you can run your power wire on one side of the car and the RCAs on the other side, then by all means do it...as having them next to each other will cause this...
Old 11-18-2007, 04:27 PM
Contributing Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
That must be my problem too, for my first install i was in a hurry and just ran them together and also have a small whine anytime it is on. Not that much but at low volumes it is a little annoying.
Old 11-18-2007, 04:49 PM

It might be grounding issues between the HU and the amp. Some amp wiring kits have a small (18 or 16 ga?) that you run from the HU ground to and add it to the amps ground. This would eliminate a ground loop.

Try running an extra small wire from the HU's ground and add it to the amps main ground terminal.