The Fab Shop Tube buggies, armor protection and anything else that requires cutting, welding, or custom fab work

Bandit Runner's 3rd Gen Rear Bumper Build

Old 12-01-2010, 07:22 AM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Bandit Runner's 3rd Gen Rear Bumper Build

Well, it’s finally time to build a rear bumper to compliment the front one that I built earlier. The main goals of this bumper are to:
1. Integrate a receiver into the bumper to eliminate the low hanging OEM trailer hitch.
2. Include a place for additional rear-facing lights. (I’ll probably use my OEM fog lights)
3. Provide enough space for a 255/85R16 spare tire in the stock spare location.
4. Provide a place to mount mud flaps to properly cover the rear tires.
5. Provide recovery points (shackle hangers).
6. Compliment the styling of the front bumper.
7. Keep the weight down as much as possible.
8. Have a strong and simple mounting system.

I have been working on the CAD design for several months now, and after many changes I am finally happy with it. The current weight is 105 lbs.

Looks like I will be driving around with quite a rake for the next several months. I think I gained at least an inch of lift in the rear after removing the hitch, bumper, and spare tire.

The rear bumper and receiver were a total pain to remove, as some of the bolts were rusted solid. I ended up cutting many of them off with the angle grinder.

Here’s a shot of some steel parts I’ve been collecting for this project.

The main horizontal beam will be a 3 x 5 x 1/4” angle iron. The mounts going back along under the frame rails are 3 x 4 x 1/4" angle iron. The other outside skin areas will all be 1/8” thick, that I have left over from a 4 x 8’ sheet from my front bumper build.

Like the front bumper build, I want to mock up the bumper with plywood/cardboard first. This was a lifesaver with the front bumper, as I made many changes to improve the design before actually cutting steel. So I got started this past weekend on the mock-up: