YotaTech Forums  

Go Back   YotaTech Forums > Announcements, Tips & Tricks, Site Feedback, Test Section, & Contact Us > Post Your Tests Here
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Post Your Tests Here Use this sectin for testing your signature files, and for testing pictures/avatars

Welcome to Yotatech!
Welcome to Yotatech,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-16-2013, 06:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
yota1016's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 12
My speedometer doesnt work.HELP

I have a 1991 4runner and all of my gauges work accept my speedometer...the previous owner messed with the odometer and so idk if it messed it up, I haven't taken it apart yet but was curious about any ideas? Please and thanks
This ad is not displayed to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Yotatech!
yota1016 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 06:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (1)
 
StewsRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tahoe, California
Posts: 962
Does your odometer work? Pull your tach out and drive around the block and look at the needle in the speedo cable. If it spins, the tach or VSS which is in the tach, is bad. If the needle does not spin, your cable snapped, simply replace.

Sent from my iPhone using YotaTech
__________________
-Steven

Located in Truckee, Ca - Boise, Id (BSU)

91 3.really noisy 4runner AwDUhmaDiK ~ May she rest in peace. :(

95 3.even noisier 4runner MANual ~ May she not be so quick to die...
StewsRunner is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 06:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
yota1016's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 12
My tach does work.
And could it also be as simple as an electrical problem? Or is it most likely that cable?
yota1016 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 06:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (1)
 
StewsRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tahoe, California
Posts: 962
Well IIRC the vehicle speed sensor is actually in the tachometer and I do not think you can replace it, you need to replace the entire unit. I'm sure it's one of the few. Very simple check.

Sent from my iPhone using YotaTech
__________________
-Steven

Located in Truckee, Ca - Boise, Id (BSU)

91 3.really noisy 4runner AwDUhmaDiK ~ May she rest in peace. :(

95 3.even noisier 4runner MANual ~ May she not be so quick to die...
StewsRunner is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 06:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
yota1016's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 12
Ok thank u.
yota1016 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 06:50 PM
Yotatech
4WD Truck




Paid Advertisement
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:17 PM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2