Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

Baby Beast 2-1999 4Runner

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2012, 10:48 AM
Contributing Member

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Baby Beast 2-1999 4Runner

I'm new to this generation truck. I've built up a first gen, and started a truggy.

I'm returning to the basics to have a reliable DD for camping, wheeling, hunting, and all around usefulness.

I purchased this 1999 SR5 4runner after many months of searching in November, 2011:

I purchased this for several reasons:

High Mileage brought the price down significantly=more money for mods.
Mileage was done my an old lady driving up and down the front range. Virtually no offroad miles.

Full service records indicate that it had regular service for it's whole life and was very well maintained.

The interior is clean, and cloth, not leather, which is my preference.

Most importantly, it is a 5 speed with a rear locker, which is also my preference for driving.

I removed the running boards and ran it stock for a few months.
Old 02-23-2012, 10:52 AM
Contributing Member

I first removed the fender flares, because I didn't really like the way they looked. I may color match them and re install down the road, but I'm not sure yet.

I purchased some real tires for it, 265/75R16 MT/R Kevlars, and took it out wheeling in the snow, which was only snowy part of the way.

However, half way through this trip (new years day) I fell coming down a hill and broke my ankle. Someone else had to drive myself and my truck off the trail, and to an ER. It took a VERY long time to get down.

It also put everything else on hold for a while.
Old 02-23-2012, 11:04 AM
Contributing Member

At this point, I have done a lot of research into suspension. I talked with DirtCO, as I really admire his build, and weighed my options.