Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Weirdest problem ever on 2001

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2010, 11:44 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Weirdest problem ever on 2001

My wifes friend has a 2001 that did the strangest thing...I am totally perplexed, and I am a relatively experienced mechanic.

While driving a few days ago, all the dash lights...such as ABS, check engine, traction control, etc. came on and stayed on.

The speedo/odometer also stopped working.

And when she got home, found the emergency brake wasnt working either!

ALL AT THE SAME TIME

the stealership told here a new master cylinder and brake booster would fix all the problems?!?!?!?

I think that is crazy.
The E brake should be a cable...right? Nothing hydraulic at all.
Not too mention, the brakes work as usual

And what would the master/booster have to do with the speedo?

Anybody have any ideas?

I told her to take it to an advanced auto and get it scanned for free and let me know.

I'm guessing cable broke on E brake, and speedo cable went bad, but the lights on the dash has me stumped.

I bet this one stumps everyone on here

If anyone wants to guess what it is, I will promise to follow up with the answer when it is all fixed
Old 03-02-2010, 06:13 PM

update

she took it and got it scanned and the guy said it was the speed sensor
what would this sensor affect?
any ideas?
Old 03-03-2010, 04:36 PM
Contributing Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
The speed sensor affects lots of stuff, like the speedometer, ABS, TRAC, VSC, transmission. There is no speedometer cable, it's electronic on newer 4Runners. The only thing you mentioned that it couldn't affect is the e=brake. Like you said it is totally mechanical, so that could be a broken cable.
Btw 2001 4Runners have 5 speed sensors, one on each wheel and one on the trans/transfer case. Was the code specific to which one or did it just say speed sensor.
Old 03-03-2010, 04:45 PM