Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Water Injection only for S/C 4Runner

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2005, 07:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Water Injection only for S/C 4Runner

Hello Everyone,
I am currently the owner of a 2000 4x2 Automatic S/C 4Runner and I am trying to decide on getting either the URD Fuel Upgrade or Aquamist Water Injection to make sure that the truck is not leaning out and pinging. I am currently not hearing any pinging, but I know that this doesn't necessarily mean that I'm not pinging. I am leaning toward getting the water injection kit only because I don't plan on switching out the stock S/C pulley to increase the boost and hopefully I won't get any worse MPG than it already has by upgrading the fuel system. Plus, I am currently a internal medicine resident that leaves me with very little time to get a kit like the full fuel upgrade installed. Whereas the water injection kit seems like I can install it myself in a couple of days. But I'm concerned whether this is a wise idea. I searched and from what I found on the forums, there has been no one who has just gone with water injection only for their S/C 4Runner. Does the water injection kit provide a good cure for the HG/LR ping and high end lean out? Or is the fuel kit the only way to make a S/C 4Runner as realiable as a stock 4Runner? I want to keep my 4Runner as reliable as possible but also go the most convenient, and economical route.
Darshana S...

Last edited by Supraman16; 02-24-2005 at 08:03 PM.
Old 02-25-2005, 04:48 AM
Contributing Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by Supraman16
Hello Everyone,