Tps install on 99 runner - YotaTech Forums


Go Back   > >


95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Tps install on 99 runner

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-23-2006, 05:34 PM   #1
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
JEDI87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Gardnerville,Nv./South Lake Tahoe
Posts: 853
Tps install on 99 runner

When replacing the tps on my 99 runner do I just take the old one off and install the new one?They are non adjustable right?
JEDI87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2006, 06:00 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,036
yes, thats it. if you remove the rubber gasket, BE CAREFUL and don't let that sucker fall in.
Bob_98SR5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 01:47 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Andrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,009
just curious, is there a write-up or scanned pictures from FSM on how to change TPS? I'm about to do mine, but not exactly sure where to start.

Thanks in advance,
-- Andrey
Andrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 07:38 PM   #4
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
JEDI87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Gardnerville,Nv./South Lake Tahoe
Posts: 853
I don't know about a write up but it takes 2 minutes to yank the old and install the new. Just 2 screws, easiest one I've ever done.
JEDI87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 07:40 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Jimmeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montana USA
Posts: 2,276
Didn't you get that memo?
Jimmeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 07:41 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Andrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,009
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by JEDI87
I don't know about a write up but it takes 2 minutes to yank the old and install the new. Just 2 screws, easiest one I've ever done.
Would you know where TPS is located? I can't find one on mine. I have 2001 4Runner with supercharger.

Thanks,
-- Andrey
Andrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 03:54 AM   #7
Contributing Member
 
MTL_4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montreal, QC Canada
Posts: 8,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrey
Would you know where TPS is located? I can't find one on mine. I have 2001 4Runner with supercharger.

Thanks,
-- Andrey
It should be right below the "new tubing" arrow in this pic (you can see it in the lower right corner in the pic).



It's right on the back side of the throttle body, should be 2 screws and it comes right out.

Last edited by MTL_4runner; 08-31-2006 at 03:56 AM.
MTL_4runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 06:21 AM   #8
Registered User
 
Andrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,009
Thanks Jamie!

I guess what I'm a bit confused about is why new TPS would look different (and have different connection) then the one on 4Runner. Or TPS could be somewhere underneath?

my 4Runner


new TPS (part number 89452):


What do you think?
Andrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 06:34 AM   #9
Contributing Member
 
MTL_4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montreal, QC Canada
Posts: 8,807
Your TPS is right there in the pic too.

If the TPS connector is different you may need to check P/N with the dealer.
Attached Thumbnails
Tps install on 99 runner-tps_car.jpg  

Last edited by MTL_4runner; 08-31-2006 at 06:35 AM.
MTL_4runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 10:05 AM   #10
Registered User
 
Andrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,009
update:
So I went to a dealer today and asked them why TPS that the sold me doesn't fit. Apparently, they don't have TPS as a part for '01 - '02 4Runners and sell only the entire throttle body that runs around $1,000. The guy also told me that haven't sold throttle body for '01 4Runners in almost 2 years in the entire state of AZ and he thinks that throttle body/sensor is not the problem.

Now I'm at lost as to what else "P0121 - Throttle Pedal Sensor Switch "A" Circuit Range/Performance" error code could mean. Any ideas?

-- Andrey

Last edited by Andrey; 08-31-2006 at 05:39 PM.
Andrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 07:16 PM   #11
Registered User
 
Andrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,009
2nd update:
I checked the idle speed and it is around 700-750 rpm. In addition, I also checked throttle position sensor (TPS) and accelerator pedal postion sensor. They both read 1.6 Ohm.

Anything else could be causing P0121 or is there anything else I should check?
Andrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 03:45 PM   #12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brantford
Posts: 2
I am going to replace my tps this week, is there a certain brand that is better than another?
starr_scream is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Void Dwellers 1995 4Runner 4WD SR5 voiddweller 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) 19 05-02-2016 09:10 PM
White tire letters in, or white letters out? Scenic WonderRunner Off Topic Talk 36 03-03-2016 07:37 PM
22rte to 22re / injectors not firing viesail 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 22 07-06-2015 10:16 AM
88 4Runner build CJ94yota 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) 2 07-03-2015 10:14 PM
1991 truck 3VZE Help with diagnosis (Results of tests) zd92655 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 3 07-01-2015 05:48 PM


Tags
2000, 3rd, 4runner, 99, change, codes, error, generation, install, p0121, position, sensor, throttle, tps, tundra

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:20 PM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.