Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

toyota diesel conversion finished

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2004, 02:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Was gonna say visc fan but reread and saw its solid. What about the water pump?

Are you refilling the cooling system with heaters fully on. Disconnect the the 'out' hose somewhere near the thermostat housing and make sure you have good stong flow to eliminate the core from the equation.

Faulty thermostat? Put it in a pot of water and boil it and watch to see if it opens as it should

That said, I have no experience of a 2LIIT as mines a 13 year old 2LT
Old 12-13-2004, 03:54 PM
Contributing Member

Originally Posted by Dieselyota
Here are some pictures of my turbo diesel conversion. It's a toyota 2L-T turbo diesel 2.4L 4 cylinder.I get like 30mpg average. My html is off so it looks like I cant post it here but I included a link.

http://www.hometown.aol.com/solohant/index.html
linky no worky
Seiously sound like a sweet mod set up. When i get some cash saved i think i'll have to look into a swap for one of those 1kzte diesels if they are as cheap as 4runner4ever says.

Last edited by aviator; 12-13-2004 at 03:59 PM.
Old 12-14-2004, 08:54 AM
Contributing Member

I hope I didn't give the impression that those are free over here.
Cars and parts are way more expensive over here, plus shipping large heavy parts overseas is a financial pain also.
Plus most wreckers cut off the wiring instead of unplugging it, so getting the right ECU, wiring and other small parts is a major pain in the ass.
Front clips are also rare over here.
So mostly I buy a (wrecked) donor and strip it.

I have driven toyota diesels for about 12 years. I never encountered cooling problems with any diesel swap.
Not even with the 13B-T (3.4 4 cyl) engine. I almost allways use electric fans and new diesel radiators.