Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Towing a Trailer to Alaska w/ 2001 4Runner

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2015, 10:15 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Towing a Trailer to Alaska w/ 2001 4Runner

My girlfriend and I are thinking about towing a travel trailer to AK for the summer. I have a 2001 4Runner (V6 3.4L) with a towing package.

I am new to the whole towing thing, and I saw in the manual it says MAX 5000lbs for towing.

We're talking a 3,400 mile, 60 hour drive over the course of two weeks.

What is the heaviest trailer recommended for that long of a drive? I am looking currently at a 3,500lb 19 foot trailer. Would that be too much for that long of a drive?

Thanks in advance for any input!
Old 02-18-2015, 10:34 AM

Received 603 Likes on 441 Posts
You got electric brake controller?? Probably a must-have.
Additional aftermarket tranny cooler could'nt hurt either.

If you drive sensibly, I think you'll be fine.

This assumes that your 2001 truck is well maintained overall.

Of course, if you can make the load lighter, all the better.

Last edited by millball; 02-18-2015 at 11:01 AM.
Old 02-18-2015, 10:56 AM

Originally Posted by millball
You got electric brake controller?? Probably a must-have.
Additional aftermarket tranny cooler could'nt hurt either.

If you drive sensibly, I think you'll be fine.

Of course, if you can make the load lighter, all the better.
Thanks! Just your message alone made me aware of the electric brake controller and tranny cooler. I didn't even know about either of these but they definitely make sense. I am such a noobie!
Old 02-18-2015, 12:15 PM
Contributing Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
here are some mods & service checks that is strongly recommended before you go on that trip: