Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Timing seems off. What to do?

Old 12-05-2014, 11:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Timing seems off. What to do?

I've been poking around on these boards for a few years now, It's about time I post. I've had a CEL on for a while now. A mechanic I trust told me that the evap system is playing up. The charcoal canister needs replaced and that's expensive. Apparently I can wait to fix that: I'll lose a little bit of power and notice decreased mileage. A nearby dealer quoted about $900 to replace the charcoal canister. Not really a big deal, there's no emissions testing out where we live. I don't have $900 just floating around. But, driving around with a CEL on isn't the best idea. Good mechanic suggested I buy a cheap ODB2 code reader and keep an eye out for new codes.

Searched on amazon found a cheap ($20) code reader, plugged it in and was off to the races. I now have a lot of data which I don't really understand, and don't quite know what to do with.

Before finding the mechanic I trust I had been taking my truck to another not completely honest mechanic who seems to have been replacing perfectly good parts with bottom of the line parts and not so top notch work. We caught him out lying to us about thousands of dollars of urgent work and have never been back. One of the many jobs he did for us is to replace the timing chain.

My new scan tool reports that the timing is off, constantly, by about +10-12°. The truck's felt different ever since he (bad mechanic) "fixed" the timing belt. When I asked him about the truck running just very slightly rough he had assured me its perfect and not to worry.