Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Take foot off brake from complete stop, feel a clunk, please help

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2012, 12:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Take foot off brake from complete stop, feel a clunk, please help

Hey everybody, I'm a noob here, so please go easy on me!

Tech question here:
I just bought my 99 4Runner as a daily driver until I can afford a newer Taco. Got a good deal knowing that it would need some front end work (I think).

Planning on doing tie rod ends and ball joints soon, including a full suspension overhaul (maybe). Struts on it are blue, does this mean they were changed out at some point?

Anyways, as the title suggests, since I bought it, it has made a funny clunk thing randomly right at the end of coming to a complete stop, basically I stop and then feel a clunk. Then, more often than not after being at a complete stop, right when I take my foot off the brake I can feel that same clunk. I feel it in the brake pedal, and on the shifting nob (V-6 Auto 4x4). Also when I put the car in park, the runner will slide back a bit, which is normal but then I can feel the car click and see the shifting nob click in to place.

Took it to my local auto shop who thought the rear brakes needed to be turned and they think that the clunk is from the parking brake not functioning (the pivots on both sides are seized up), and so the rear brakes aren't self adjusting like they should.

I think it is something else, but wanted to get your opinions.

As a side question, have any of you done the parking brake yourself? I am going to try hitting the pivots with PB Blaster to see if I can free them up, if not the dealership only wants 108 bucks for the whole cable and pivot assembly.

Thanks for your help in advance.
Old 09-29-2012, 02:38 PM

try greasing the slip yoke in the rear drive shaft.
Old 09-30-2012, 04:47 AM
Contributing Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post