Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

stuck on Cal. CAT and EVAP in Oregon

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2010, 09:51 AM
ksl

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
stuck on Cal. CAT and EVAP in Oregon

Hello, I ran a search for "california emission 4runner catalytic converter replacement for another state" but it returned nothing so I am starting this thread. I hope it's ok.

I've been driving around with the check engine light on for two years after the dealer supposedly fixed it to pass the smog test - then it came back on a month later.

I live in Oregon and I have a 2002 4runner with 168,000 miles with P0420 and EVAP codes. I checked for exhaust leaks, replaced the gas cap and replaced the rear O2 sensor (I figured it was about time anyway).

I went through almost three tanks of gas before OBD2 would monitor the catalyst. P0420 came back at "pending" with EVAP codes as well. The rear O2 sensor seems to be in sync, switching values with the front sensor.

Finally, the check engine light is back on with a P0420 DTC and P0420, P0440 and P0446 pending, Evap seems impossible to reset.

I guess my main $2500 question is: Do I have to replace the converters with OEM or 50 state legal converters because my 4runner is a Cal emissions vehicle and the ECM will indicate trouble codes with anything but California converters?

I'm cash poor but my credit is good but i'd rather not add more debt.......

Is there a workaround?

-edit- I should add that one day my runner lost power on the freeway. It would idle but when I gave it gas, it wouldn't go. I turned off the car then restarted and it was normal. I have broken air box mounts, top and bottom with a small crack/hole in it. I have secured the box with zip ties so it won't move around much. I once moved the box to see how loose it was and the car again lost power. Those were the only two times this occurred.

Last edited by ksl; 10-31-2010 at 11:39 AM.
Old 10-31-2010, 12:15 PM