Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Springs/shocks advice needed-- 96 base 4wd

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2003, 10:04 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Springs/shocks advice needed-- 96 base 4wd

I know this is probably covered in the Suspension Round-up, but as I am totally new to coil springs and 4 runners, the Roundup is way over my head and I am hoping someone with experience might be able to just tell me what they think I need to do.

My truck:
Base model 1996 4wd w/ the 2.7 and 5 speed, bone stock, 104k miles.

Use/Purpose:
I am using it as the family truck: suburban drivng around (Atlanta), weekend trips to/from the plant nursery, camping, hunting and fishing and SOME trailer towing.

Present condition of suspension:

I tried towing my trailer last week and the truck did a lot better than I expected. However, I do have some rear sag (even w/o a trailer) and the ride is really harsh all the time- I figure I need new rear shocks at a minimum, and maybe rear springs as well. Remember, 104k miles.

What I would like to accomplish is the following:

Smoother ride over normal bumps and better handling on curves, eliminate rear sag, level towing when loaded with trailer. If I could get slightly bigger "AT" type tires someday ( maybe 32's max), that would be fine, but I don't think I need a "lift" per se. If I have to end up with some "rake" in order to run level with a trailer or loaded cargo area, that's fine as long as handling is not adversely affected.

Questions:

Can anyone just suggest what kind of set up would be ideal for my needs and what parts (and brands) I should get in order to accomplish what I need? Also any guesstimates on costs would be great as well.
Thanks,
Carl
Old 01-07-2003, 10:07 AM
Away

Here you go!

Hope this helps.
Dr. Z
Old 01-07-2003, 11:18 AM
Contributing Member

if you are looking for a smooth ride (and with no lift) then I would go with:
Bistein shocks
get the rear spring recall done