Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Replacing Fuel Injector for 99 4Runner 3.4L

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2008, 05:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Replacing Fuel Injector for 99 4Runner 3.4L

Hi,
This is my first post, and I'm a total noob when it comes to cars. I started lurking around this forum for some time now to get a handle on my 4runner's problems.

My car shakes pretty bad, plus I got a code showing my 5th cylinder is misfiring, With the advice from this forum I checked the coils and spark plugs, which appear okay, but noticed that the resistance to the fuel injector for the 5th cylinder was around 44 ohms. I read that it should range between 13-16 ohms. So I assume this is causing the misfiring. Am I accurate in this assessment? I figured the fuel injector is bad and needs to be replaced. My second question is how do I replace a bad fuel injector? Do they just pop out? I couldn't find this information.

Thanks for the help.
Blackout138
Old 12-17-2008, 01:12 AM
Contributing Member

Originally Posted by blackout138
Hi,
This is my first post, and I'm a total noob when it comes to cars. I started lurking around this forum for some time now to get a handle on my 4runner's problems.

My car shakes pretty bad, plus I got a code showing my 5th cylinder is misfiring, With the advice from this forum I checked the coils and spark plugs, which appear okay, but noticed that the resistance to the fuel injector for the 5th cylinder was around 44 ohms. I read that it should range between 13-16 ohms. So I assume this is causing the misfiring. Am I accurate in this assessment? I figured the fuel injector is bad and needs to be replaced. My second question is how do I replace a bad fuel injector? Do they just pop out? I couldn't find this information.

Thanks for the help.
Blackout138
hey,
not really sure bro never had to change one...Do you have a haynes manual as they are pretty helpful for the most part?