Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Rear Axle/Diff Rebuild, etc.

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2010, 06:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rear Axle/Diff Rebuild, etc.

Hey, I'm a newb in this side of the forums, had a 94 22re before and now have a 97 sr5 w/ and auto trans. Anyhow, thanks in advance for the help....

The rear diff seems to have a leak shere the third member bolts up to the axle housing, there is a little fresher oil around the entire gasket surface, so i'm assuming that i need to pull apart the whole darn thing in order to replace the gasket. Even if it is the breather, which I'll be extending, am I correct in that once that gasket blows, it's gotta be replaced? The other posts I read in the searches suggest not using RTV? Correct? Gasket or good stuff?

While I am at it, I figured I should replace the inner oil seals on both sides, since they'll be apart anyhow. The rear bearings were done at 95 by the PO (btw, I'm at 130) and I think they should be fine, so I was just going to do the seals and O-rings. Any other suggestions for maintenance since I'm tearing into this? Just order these gaskets from the local dealer? I'll get the Marlin hex plugs, since they are far cleaner to work on (and the Marlin family is great).

While I am tearing into it, i was figuring possibly doing the suspension upgrade while the brake lines were off....(and the wife is OKing initial truck funding) the springs and shocks on this are shot, and I'll eventually go with steel bumpers (the rear is rusted out.... and on the old one I had a Kennesaw on the rear of the 94, and it actually was fine... though yes, it took a long time to get... but I've had custom bikes built, so I have ultrarealistic understanding of build times).