Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Proper tuning on 3.0L V-6

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2003, 07:46 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Proper tuning on 3.0L V-6

Over the past weekend, I had to replace my alternator. In order to get to it, I had to remove the distributor.

I've got everything back in place now, but before I crank the engine, I need to re-adjust the distributor and set the crankshaft to 10 deg before TDC. I've never done this before and I need some diagrams and advice on what to do before turning the key.

My 4Runner is a 1991 4WD with a 3.0L V6 with 192,000 miles on it.
Old 12-21-2003, 10:38 AM
Contributing Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Did you mark the distributor BEFORE you pulled it?
That is the easiest way to get it apart and back together.

Otherwise you need to set the engine to top dead center.
Then line the rotor up with the #1 cylinder (it will start but run horribly)
Then with your timing light adjust it back to 10-12 BTC
Make sure to jumper the computer when setting the advance.
Old 12-21-2003, 11:13 AM

I marked the distributor but when I put it back in the engine and tried to start it, it wouldn't run. It would just turn over and occassionaly backfire.

How do you line up the distributor?
Old 12-21-2003, 11:19 AM

Travis it's really important that you review the repair and mainenance manual prior to setting cylinder number 1 to top-dead-center.

Then you can align the TDC mark on the distributer.
Old 12-21-2003, 05:08 PM
Contributing Member

Crap.. You sure do things the hard way!! There is no need to pull the dist. to get the alt. out! (Just ask the guys at last years EC4RJ when I had to pull it in the rain using a Coleman lantern under the hood!