Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Online (or maybe not) parts question

Old 12-17-2003, 10:13 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Online (or maybe not) parts question

I guess I should introduce myself before imposing on the group with my questions.

I'm new to the BBS, and hopefully soon will be an actual 4Runner driver. My name is Michael White, and I live in San Mateo, CA. I have a 1990 4Runner 3.slow (when I first read that in this group, I practically fell out of my chair laughing - how true).

In any event, my Runner has a little problem with - you guessed it - the head gasket. I won't bore you with all of the details. Let's just say that I've learned a lot, the hard way, about these motors blowing up. This was my wife's kid-transporter for two years; however, three motors later, it became a very large paper weight in front of my house. Now, it will either be my running and reliable transportation, or off to the glue factory.

Which brings us to now. A while ago, in response to temp guage issues, my local auto shop diagnosed a leaking head gasket after they found hydrocarbons in the cooling system. The good news was that they found this before any serious overheating occurred, so other than the head gasket itself, the motor seems to be in fine shape.

As mechanical skill goes, I wouldn't say I've got a lot, but what I lack in knowledge, skill and common sense, I more than make up for in tenacity and ignorance. Therefore, I rarely know when to quit and cut my losses. Which makes me perfect for this job. So, over my Christmas vacation, I'm planning on reviving the Runner.

So to make a long story longer, here's my first question: I've seen a couple of suppliers on ebay selling gasket sets for the 4Runner. Given the long and tortured history of the 4Runner head gaskets, are these kind of aftermarket parts a no no? Should I only be installing Toyota factory gaskets?