Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Oil In Intake Box

Old 11-05-2009, 09:41 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Oil In Intake Box

So I just bought a 1997 Toyota 4Runner Limited 4WD. Everything looked good on it. I get it home today and realized something was leaking under the intake box. I pull the air filter out and the bottom of the intake box and part of the bottom of the filter is covered in oil. What is causing this oil to come down the intake? Bad PCV valve? Help please, I am brand new to Toyota's.
Old 11-05-2009, 10:39 AM

Amsoil foam/oil filter?

Did the previous owner run an Amsoil foam/oil air filter? From the sounds of it, you just described my airbox...

Is there oil in the intake tube, also? If not, I suspect a foam/oil air filter was used.

Steve.
Old 11-05-2009, 10:57 AM

No there is oil up in the intake. Since it is slated down it runs down the intake tube, opposite direction of air flow and is leaking into bottom of air box and then through it and down the side of the engine bay and down onto the ground.
Old 11-05-2009, 11:03 AM

Ouch!

Wow, I was hoping along with you that this might be something simple. Grasping at the simple things, I can't see how this could be a simple case of overfilling the motor oil. It does sound serious...

There are some serious mechanics on this board. Hopefully, you will hear some good info from them.

Steve.
Old 11-05-2009, 11:23 AM

could be what you said or maybe even worse. I'd change the oil while someone can tell you the exact problem. good luck.
Old 11-05-2009, 03:00 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
could be a bad head gasket. time to test coolant for exhaust gasses
and oil for coolant
Old 11-05-2009, 03:06 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
PCV System.... but due to the dripping you say..... prolly blow by from the cylinders or someone metioned over fill... thats possible... Is it smoking any at all? Check oil level on dip stick......
Old 11-05-2009, 05:45 PM