Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

OBD II readers

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2003, 12:34 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
OBD II readers

Hi all;

So, in my wanderings about my "Check engine light" issues (see associated thread if you're interested) I started surfing around to edu-ma-kate myself on just what the OBD codes are and what I can do to read and reset them on my own.

I tripped over a couple of readers and in talking with Dr. Z offline, he suggested I post to the world. All of the units below will read and reset the ECU codes.

NOTE: I'm new to this world, so I'm just passing on what I thought were unique units. I don't know any history about these companies or the products. I know that there are a LOT more testers out there, but these seemed to be the most talked about.
  • The BR-1 from obddiagnostics.com

http://obddiagnostics.com/

It's an $85 interface with DOS and Windows software that will handle all of the OBD II codes.

Check out the screen shots from the Windows download page. The author has done a good bit of work on this box. Tie this up to a laptop and go for a drive.

For the hardware/software hacks out there, they also provide a partial-kit of hard-to-find parts so that you can roll your own.

• The Equus 3100:

http://www.iequus.com/3100.asp?catshort=3100

From all that I've read, this seems to be the most popular of the hand-helds. The LCD display gives a good indication of activity of the various sensors and in general you get more information than fromt he simple LED readers. Checking eBay, it looks like they're running about $130.

• The CJ-II, from AES Wave:

http://www.aeswave.com/Palm/CJ2/

For the Palm/Visor folks, this seems to be _the_ unit out there. It's pricey though (US $330), and not a lot of folks are selling them. I didn't see any on eBay.

• Actron CP9135:

http://www.actron.com/cp9135.htm