OBD II Code PL120? - YotaTech Forums


Go Back   >


95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners
Sponsored by:
Click Here

OBD II Code PL120?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-07-2008, 07:58 AM   #1
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
highplainsdrifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV.
Posts: 51
OBD II Code PL120?

1999 4Runner 3.4 liter, intermitently throws a check engine light with a PL-120 code. The truck runs fine. When the CEL comes on I reset it and it seems to be fine but in a week or so the CEL comes on again. Other than the intermittent CEL the truck runs fine and just passed smog.

Any ideas on what part/ sensor is going bad?

Thanks.
highplainsdrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 08:04 AM   #2
Contributing Member
 
MTL_4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montreal, QC Canada
Posts: 8,807
Your code is P0120 and there's plenty of info on that one.
Just do a quick search and you'll find copious amounts of reading material.

http://www.yotatech.com/search.php?searchid=4126832

Last edited by MTL_4runner; 01-07-2008 at 08:05 AM.
MTL_4runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 09:18 AM   #3
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
highplainsdrifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV.
Posts: 51
I actually have searched quite a bit and cannot find anything about PL120.
highplainsdrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 09:49 AM   #4
Contributing Member
 
Elvota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Phx, AZ
Posts: 3,415
At a quick glance, seems to have something to do with the TPS sensor.

PM me your E-Mail and I can send the FSM testing procedures in regards to PO120.
Elvota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 09:59 AM   #5
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
highplainsdrifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV.
Posts: 51
Sent, thanks.

By the way, its a PO120... not PL.
highplainsdrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 10:45 AM   #6
Contributing Member
 
Baloo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 108
Just had the same problem on my 01. While it could be a hort in the TPS circuit, more than likely the TPS needs to be replaced.

You can get them for anything from around $40 online to $80 + locally (my experience). Not sure what the dealership gets for them.
Baloo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 10:50 AM   #7
Contributing Member
 
Elvota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Phx, AZ
Posts: 3,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by highplainsdrifter View Post
Sent, thanks.
Related FSM sent. Hopefully it will be of some help.
Elvota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 11:01 AM   #8
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
highplainsdrifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV.
Posts: 51
Thanks. After doing some research I believe it is the TPS which is a relatively inexpensive part. The vehicle only has ~90k on it but it is 8 years old so I guess I shouldnt be too surprised a potentiometer is wearing out.
highplainsdrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 11:03 AM   #9
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
highplainsdrifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV.
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baloo View Post
Just had the same problem on my 01. While it could be a hort in the TPS circuit, more than likely the TPS needs to be replaced.

You can get them for anything from around $40 online to $80 + locally (my experience). Not sure what the dealership gets for them.
I found it for $39. at Toyota of Dallas... toyotapartsales.com

There is no damage to any of the wire loom and its all 100% stock so I too am assuming its the TPS that is wearing out.

Thanks
highplainsdrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:16 PM   #10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 224
figured it was better to bump a thread than make a new one...

My engine threw this code PO120 (and behaves as it should with a TPS malfunction), so I want to swap it out... but my question is: where is the TPS sensor in the 3rd gen? I searched but didn't see much, so can anyone give me an easy answer? Thanks
kmcaprice14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 05:25 PM   #11
Contributing Member
 
MTL_4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montreal, QC Canada
Posts: 8,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmcaprice14 View Post
figured it was better to bump a thread than make a new one...

My engine threw this code PO120 (and behaves as it should with a TPS malfunction), so I want to swap it out... but my question is: where is the TPS sensor in the 3rd gen? I searched but didn't see much, so can anyone give me an easy answer? Thanks
It is right on the side of your throttle body.
See attached pic.
Attached Thumbnails
OBD II Code PL120?-4runner-tps.jpg  

Last edited by MTL_4runner; 01-22-2008 at 05:26 PM.
MTL_4runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 06:51 PM   #12
Registered User
 
ninjarunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rexburg, ID
Posts: 176
it only takes like 5min to replace.
ninjarunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 02:27 AM   #13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by MTL_4runner View Post
It is right on the side of your throttle body.
See attached pic.
perfect... i appreciate it
kmcaprice14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 09:44 AM   #14
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
highplainsdrifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV.
Posts: 51
Update to the thread...

I replaced the TPS with a new one which was very simple to do. I verified before removal and after re-installation that the TPS settings were the same with my Scangauge II (10 - 75), although there is no adjustment of this sensor for this year vehicle. The CEL has not appeared since and everything seems to be working fine. I would say time will tell as the CEL only came on very intermittently before, but I think this fix has solved the problem.
highplainsdrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 01:48 PM   #15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by highplainsdrifter View Post
Update to the thread...

I replaced the TPS with a new one which was very simple to do. I verified before removal and after re-installation that the TPS settings were the same with my Scangauge II (10 - 75), although there is no adjustment of this sensor for this year vehicle. The CEL has not appeared since and everything seems to be working fine. I would say time will tell as the CEL only came on very intermittently before, but I think this fix has solved the problem.
It also solved my idle problem.
kmcaprice14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 05:37 PM   #16
Registered User
 
mikes19984x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL
Posts: 705
i had this code to show up in my 98 4runner and it comes and goes like once a month...however, i never notice any difference in how the truck/engine actually perform...
mikes19984x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Knock Sensor replacement 3vze moparbay 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 5 10-06-2015 09:24 AM
HELP! 89 4Runner 22RE Auto, no injectors! bradahman 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 8 10-01-2015 09:24 AM
Advice on a possibly bad 2TR-FE and shady dealer. charlie_fong General Vehicle Related Topics (Non Year Related) 0 09-27-2015 10:06 PM
Questions- Housing & Diff install- 1989 2wd 8 inch where 1991 2wd 7-1/2 was Odin 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 3 09-26-2015 06:56 PM
Oil catch can installed, now cel p0171 Draven023 Newbie Tech Section 3 09-26-2015 12:41 PM


Tags
05, 1999, 34, 4runner, adjustment, attach, code, codes, ii, obd, obd2, obdii, p0120, po120, po133, position, runner, sensor, throttle, toyota

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:09 PM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.