Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Newbie buying a 4Runner questions (after searching)

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2004, 07:46 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Newbie buying a 4Runner questions (after searching)

I'm a newbie to the 4Runner world, but I'm leaning heavily on making it my next vehicle. The only other contender is a Grand Cherokee (flame on!) I'm looking at 1996 - 2000ish based on my max price of 18k - with 15k where I'd really like to end up. I have had several jeeps and enjoy offroading, but will need to keep the 4Runner primarily as a daily driver. I may do a mild lift and some slightly larger tires and will likely run mild trails (mild meaning body damage risk is LOW) I would very much like to get one with a rear diff lock, but may have to settle for one without. I have a few questions for the forum:

1) What year was VSC an option?
What exactly is VSC?
2) What years have/need center diff locks? I'm assuming this is in conjunction with a full-time 4WD system?
3) How common are the rear diff locks? Are there particular years/models that the rear diff locks are more common in?
4) I read about the head gasket issue for 96-mid 97s and the rear spring recalls, are their any other 4Runner 'demons' I should be looking out for?
5) Are certain years favored over others?
6) Were there any major interior improvements during these years? (I would like for it to look as modern as possible.
7) I'm leaning on an auto - any problems with the auto tranny in these years?

Any other general advice is greatly appreciated. TIA - Chris
Old 05-27-2004, 07:57 AM
Contributing Member