Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Newb has questions about 3rd gen 4runner build

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2012, 09:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newb has questions about 3rd gen 4runner build

Hi all, Im new to toyotas, but I just finished building a stretched Jeep. (dont shoot ive learned my lesson with jeeps and Im jumping ship) Ive installed ARBs into solid axles without 3rd members, the hard way without adjustment nuts, built a custom long arm suspension, roll cage, exocage, and all that blah blah blah. So I know some things about fabrication but I consider myself to still be a newb. So Im thinking Im going to build a 3rd gen 4runner with a 3.4V6 auto. Imma chop the top, and do the normal chop/bob/relocate the rear glass frame behind the rear door. I know with my driving style I can run 38s-40s on solid V6 toyota axles with longfields and rarely break shafts. Ill be running hydro assist up front, and doing the typical toy front SAS swap up front/putting the rear springs up front, and 63" chev leafs in the rear. Also just welding my spiders, Ill just swap out my third members when they break. Ill do more trimming and stay with as little of lift as possible, and alot of down travel. Gonna try to get the WB at about 105-110"s. Then doing the dual Tcase mod.

So heres my questions.
1. What steering box do I need/setup do I need for steering?
2. Does anyone know where I can find a writeup on the homemade dual tcase setup useing two stock tcases?
3. How much am I looking at spending (just in mods) useing all my own tools, and buying everything I can used off CL? I can find a 4runner on CL for about 2-3k
4. Can anyone please inform me on anything Im missing that I will need to buy/build during this build?

Thanks again for any and all info you guys can provide.

Also if I posted in the wrong forum I apologize, please let me know and move this thread.
Old 07-18-2012, 09:57 PM
gk5