Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

New Member, New 4R on the way

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2005, 10:05 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New Member, New 4R on the way

Hey wasup everyone. Finally found a 4Runner forum I'm an old fan of the hard to kill toyota trucks. My first ride was a '78 2wd that my grandpa had on the farm that was ran for the last years of its life with no air filter and had to pour a little gas in the carb to start it. They eventually parked it in a field and left it (it still ran) and I severally ran the hell out of it and parked it to die again. Recently, a '91 4x4 short cab that I beat into submission, bent the frame, but never actually broke anything other than the clutch pedal mount breaking. Oh, And my 1991 1-ton Toyota Motorhome

So now onto a 3rd gen for myself. I usually buy my cars from a rebuilder that I've been doing business with for several years. I like being able to buy cars with low miles that he commonly has. I don;t care that they've beeen wrecked as I am careful and thorough in looking over the vehicle.

Just today I signed the papers for a '98 4runner with 13,000 miles. Purchasing it for $10,000 (financed w/no interest).
I believe it's an SR5 (does not have any badges). It has sunroof, 3.4L, Automatic, 4x4, power windows/locks. It's only been wrecked in the front left corner (just sheetmetal damage). The parts car being used to "help" repair it is a '99 4Runner Limited.

I went over the '99 and am getting the leather seats, stereo, Front bumper/grill/lights, and of course the locking rear diff is mine too from the '99 That was the must have for sealing the deal....

So what do you guys think? Decent deal? I've been looking but can't find anything with 13,000 miles. Have there been any problems with the '98's? It's been sitting in the insurance lot since 1998... Do you think that may cause any issues??? Like rotted seals/rubber?