Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Need advice concerning a 3.0 engine rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2004, 04:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need advice concerning a 3.0 engine rebuild

I'm hoping to have a rebuilt 3.0 put in my 1989 4runner. I am new to toyota's and was hoping to get some advice.

1st - Does anyone have any suggestions about what other things I should have replaced when the mechanic has the engine out? I just had the clutch done last month so that shoudn't need re-doing. I am going to put in a new radiator, belts, hoses. Should I upgrade the cooling fan?

2nd - Any recommendations on what type of plugs and wires to buy for it?

3rd - Would it be a good idea to change out all the fluids in the tranny and transfer case? It has 247,000 miles on it, not sure when it was done last.

4th - What would be a ballpark fair price? I received one quote of $800, just wanted to check with anyone else to see what they paid. If anyone has the name of a good toyota mechanic in eastern PA I would like to take it to someone that will do it right.

As you can tell I am not confident to do any of this work myself, everyone's help is appreciated.

Thanks.
Old 04-21-2004, 05:00 PM

If it has 247,000 miles on it and still runs - I would suggest you sell it and get a lower mileage model.

Parts on these Toyotas are extremely expensive - and if it actually has 247,000 on it - most of the parts are near the end of their designed life.

Buying a Toyota - 1 part at a time will be frustrating and extremely expensive

A rebuilt 3.0 will cost you around $3,000. Automatic Tranny around 1,700.00 - not including installation.

Good luck
Old 04-21-2004, 05:17 PM

Originally Posted by radrex
If it has 247,000 miles on it and still runs - I would suggest you sell it and get a lower mileage model.