Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

My 1st shot at modding. couple questions for the veterans

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2003, 08:14 AM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My 1st shot at modding. couple questions for the veterans

Ok im a car-parts complete novice so my technical vocabulary is quite limited. Right now i have a BONE STOCK 94 4runner 4WD 5Spd. My plans for my first set of mods (of what im sure will be a NEVERENDING PROCESS ) are HD rear coils and rear spacer, and a front lift by modifying the torsion bar setting.

My stock measurements are
11in rim - wheel well in the rear.
13.5 in rim - wheel well in the front.

after the mods the predicted height is ~ 14.5 in in the rear and ~ 14.5 in the front. Im probably going to go with Edlebrock rear shocks ( im going to call them and see what to do about rear length vs stock shock length since im doing a spacer in addition to HD longer coils. ) and probably no new front shocks for now ( already hitting my budget for phase I )

ok here come the questions

my friend who is helping me with the mods said i may get vibrations in the driveline due to the increased axle angle in the rear ( something about front/rear axles not turning in phase ?) . If/when this happens whats the best/least expensive solution (poor college student :pat: ) . Next question, since im only going for ~ a 1 in increase in the front is it necesarry to get manual hubs ? and about the hubs, in the performance products magazine i have theres something called an "offroad solutions manual hub conversion kit" for ~ $900 includes warn hubs and TOYOTA wheel bearings and maybe some other things. is that necesarry vs just warn hubs for ~ $120 ?

im sure ill be needing more assistance as this process continues.
ANY and ALL help is greatly appreciated.
Old 04-10-2003, 08:42 AM
Co-Founder/Administrator
Staff

Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
Hey, glad you made it to the forum.