Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

I'm a noob idiot. Please take 5 min for me!

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2004, 03:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'm a noob idiot. Please take 5 min for me!

I have a lifted 85 4 runner 4 by 4. The engine is rebuilt, but other than that, the drivetrain/diffs are stock.

ok guys. I already made two posts about my transfer case and rear diff. At first i was told the transfer case was bad, but now a mechanic looked at it and told me for sure that it is the rear diff.

Can someone simply explain how a rear diff works to me, and the parts that could go bad and can be replaced. I am still unsure what a "third member" is, and how much/ where i can get a "locker." i'm assuming a locker is just a posi, right?

My truck felt like the driveshaft u joint was bad. A thumping feel and sound was coming from underneeth. However, the driveshaft is good, and the rear diff is bad.

What exact part is going bad/grinding to make that noise/feeling? Can i replace it with an aftermarket/better part? The mechanic said it is not the two main gears in the pumkin, but the part that transfers the power from the driveshaft TO those gears. Please give me some info on the terminology, prices, and where to buy these parts needed to replace/upgrade my stock/busted rearend.

I can't justify paying 200 dollars to replace the rearend with another STOCK and USED rearend.

thanks!

Sorry for my newb stupidity!
Old 11-13-2004, 04:18 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
sorry i dont know what it is, you do have a haynes manual for this vehicle that you have read through right?
Old 11-13-2004, 04:40 PM
Contributing Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
This is a third member (a high-pinion in this case but standard low-pinion ones look similar):