Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

High miles on all original runner

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2008, 02:32 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
High miles on all original runner

im new to 4-runners just purchased a 98 sr-5 4wd. has 218,500 miles right now. i asked the guy i purchased from had timming belt been done? he said no and he had owned since new. should i be concerned? i pland to replace it but not for a month or 2. the price was right the thing runs great gets 20 mpg on hwy. tis is my 4th toyota so i wasnt scared of the miles. has always used full synthetic oil. the thing dont even drip in my garage
Old 03-18-2008, 03:43 AM
Contributing Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
i would, along with other stuff he should have done but didnt... high mileage is only good if it has been taken care of, not ignored.

I would look at changing front/rear diffs, transfer case, coolant, and flushing the transmission (this means either having flushed, or doing it yourself the hard way (not by draining 2 qts and filling back up, but by actually flushing it))

Ask him for any other service records he may or may not have... and thoroughly check over anything and/or everything else that may have been ignored the last 200,000 miles of scheduled intervals
Old 03-18-2008, 03:57 AM

I would NOT flush a trans w/ 218k miles on it. Since you don't know the exact trans maintenance history I'd drain it, refill, run for 10k miles or so and do it again. Flushing a transmission with that many miles is a disaster waiting to happen. You can have the pan dropped and the filter changed as well.
Old 03-18-2008, 04:16 AM
Contributing Member

Originally Posted by rearviewmirror