Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

help with stereo install...my new 4runner

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2008, 02:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy help with stereo install...my new 4runner

first off im new to yota tech...second of all i just got my dads 1997 SR5 in great condition. as soon as i got it i put in 2 12 inch subs, new head unit, and door speakers. it sounds great but seeing as how i did it myself, i must have wired something wrong because every time i turn on my light a horrible buzzing comes through the system. the noise goes away and then everything kicks on. now my door speakers only work with my lights on while the sub works all the time regardless. to top things off i cannot dim my dome lights because it makes a sound that makes you want to rip off your ears. so i have to keep my dome lights always turned up the highest and drive with at least my parking lights on at all times for my stereo system to work to full potential. i feel like a total idiot but its actually kinda funny now that i look back on it. im sure it can be fixed with one wire switch but if anyone has any idea as to what in the world is going on please let me know.

o and im thinking about taking the running boards off...thoughts, feelings, emotions?

Johnny B
Old 10-26-2008, 02:35 PM
Contributing Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Run your power lines directly to the battery but remember to add IN LINE Fuse's that should give you power even with no power on in the ignition and should get rid of your buzz.

Definitely pull the running boards
Old 10-26-2008, 04:25 PM