Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Hello....and a little help

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2004, 06:20 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hello....and a little help

Hello all. I am a new member, so please be gentle!

Although I am not new to Toyota (had a 91 Celica Supra convertible at one time), I am new at owning a 4Runner. I’ve had it about two months now and I am loving every minute of it! I have been reading the board for a few weeks now and finally got around to joining. My post serves two purposes. One, ask opinions about the deal I got on the Runner; and, second I need a little advice.
First: Tell me if I got a heck of a deal or not (although I am sure I did!). Here is the rundown on my new ride:

2000 Imperial Jade 4Runner SR5
3.4L V6
Auto Transmission
Upgrade Value Package #2 (lotta extra stuff)
Sport Package (even more extra staff)
Sun Roof
Supercharger (with glass etched stripes and “SUPERCHARGED” etched on all the side windows.)
Self tinting rearview mirror (original equipment)
Clean Title – never wrecked
I am the second owner.

Okay, now the price and mileage: Only 34,000 original miles and I paid (after TT&L) right at $20,000!

Is that good? The original window sticker was still in the Owners manual. It had the Runner listed at $33,177; plus the original owner had the Supercharger added ($4077.00) and the glass etching ($795.00). Which brought the total to $38,049 (as the sticker puts it, that is). For a four year old Runner with only 34K miles (less than 10 a year!) I thought it was a steal at $20K.

Now for the help question (I know, this is a long post, but I had a lot to say for the first post!): While it has plenty of get-up-and-go, the engine does knock when I really give it the gas. I have put in the highest grade gas, injector cleaner and octane boost, but I still get knocking. Anything else I can do?
Old 09-21-2004, 06:22 AM
lee
Contributing Member