Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2014, 03:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
hello everyone i need help tuning

i am new to tuning and boost.
i have a 99 taco 5vzfe 4wd supercharged
i installed a urd calibration unit
and a lm-2 wide-band scanner with the obdii cord

i am having difficulties finding my open/ closed loop info and my fuel trims so i can start tuning.
any help on navigating the software would be greatly appreciated.
thanks in advance
Old 02-21-2014, 02:55 AM
Contributing Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Honestly the open/closed loop info doesn't play a massive role in the tuning of the 7th injector.

It will simply explain why you can't richen it up until a certain point. Although the closed loop switch will be in the OBDII stream, each scanner is different so just look though it to find which one it is on yours.

What you basically want to do with the 7th injector is adjust the fuel map on the 7th so that the AFR's stay in the high 11's across the RPM range.

The timing map you can either leave at zero or take a little out, it really doesn't do much at all honestly and is not worth worrying about unless you are getting knock IMO. A good rule of thumb is 1 degree of timing per psi to start out with.
Old 02-21-2014, 08:22 AM

its my fault that i didnt mention that i do not have 7th injector kit. just the supercharger.
it was on the truck when i bought it and this is the first vehicle that ive had with any sort of modification like this.
after researching i found that the noise i was hearing was called pinging or knock. i couldnt afford to get the calibration unit and other stuff along with the 7th kit so i am trying to work without the kit and reduce the knock as best i can by tuning the fuel map A and then map B. but have had zero luck thus far.