YotaTech Forums  

Go Back   YotaTech Forums > Toyota SUV & Truck Tech > 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Welcome to Yotatech!
Welcome to Yotatech,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-17-2005, 08:36 AM   #1
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Randomness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 1,385
Send a message via AIM to Randomness
Angry Hard starting, alarm back on, lights blinking randomly, HELP?! pics added

I have no clue what the crap is going on, but it's really pissing me off. The hard starting, not starting I can almost deal with, since it's probably just a battery or starter or something. But now, the alarm (factory? don't know, I haven't installed an alarm, I haven't always owned this car) that was not working for a long time, is somehow back. Usually, I unlock my car by putting the key in the door, and I just lock it from the inside when I get out.

Today, when it wouldn't start, it finally started, and in doing so: ejected the CD, reset all the settings on the CD player/HU; and then when I parked in the garage and got out, the front corner lights started blinking (never happened before). For some reason, I tried locking the doors with the key, the all locked simultaneously, and the corners blinked. I unlocked them all with the key, and then the fricking alarm went off. Why did using the key not disable the alarm? WTH is wrong with this thing? I don't even know if I can drive the car, because I don't have the alarm keyless entry thing, because the alarm stopped working a long time ago . Now it's back. I DON"T WANT AN ALARM, ESPECIALLY NOT THIS ONE. My car isn't nice enough for an alarm, and if someone wants to steal it, an alarm won't stop them.

How can I uninstall the alarm, or permanently disable it, or something? And what happened to my car to make all these things happen? I'm totally lost here guys, I could really use some help.
This ad is not displayed to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Yotatech!
__________________
95 3.slow SR5 4runner
160K miles | 32's | OME | Optima | Husky | dechromed
| ryan |

My Photography
Blog

Last edited by Randomness; 05-17-2005 at 01:06 PM.
Randomness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 08:39 AM   #2
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Yota4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Peterborough Ontario
Posts: 1,192
Send a message via AIM to Yota4runner Send a message via MSN to Yota4runner
Open up your dash and look, see if you can find the control box for it and pull the wires.

As far as your other problem sounds like a batter gone bad, perhaps and alternator or a starter. I would lean towards something electrical considering its resetting your HU and such.
__________________
[-Chris-]

1988 X-Tra Cab 4x4. V6. Stripped to the frame.

1998 Chevy Chyenne Extended Cab, pretty much stock, except for a few cosmetics.
Yota4runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 08:48 AM   #3
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
Randomness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 1,385
Send a message via AIM to Randomness
Which wires sould I pull? I'll look for a box, but I don't really know what I'm looking for, visually?
__________________
95 3.slow SR5 4runner
160K miles | 32's | OME | Optima | Husky | dechromed
| ryan |

My Photography
Blog
Randomness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 08:59 AM   #4
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Yota4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Peterborough Ontario
Posts: 1,192
Send a message via AIM to Yota4runner Send a message via MSN to Yota4runner
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randomness
Which wires sould I pull? I'll look for a box, but I don't really know what I'm looking for, visually?
Mine is a rather large box, in the dash. Depending on the brand and what not it should be pretty visible. There should just be connectors I would imagine like a wiring harness. Just unclip them from the box, and tape the off. Effectiely shutting down the alarm. When I get a minute I'll take a picture of my control box for you to see.
__________________
[-Chris-]

1988 X-Tra Cab 4x4. V6. Stripped to the frame.

1998 Chevy Chyenne Extended Cab, pretty much stock, except for a few cosmetics.
Yota4runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 09:04 AM   #5
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
dibble9012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,748
Send a message via AIM to dibble9012 Send a message via Skype™ to dibble9012
be careful if you just unplug wires to an alarm, if it has an engine immobilizer, once you disconnect the plugs, the engine simply wont even try to turn over. That is how it was for my stock alarm, I forgot to plug all the wires back in after I installed my remote start, and the truck wouldnt even try to start up
dibble9012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 11:07 AM   #6
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
ASU4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Blowing Rock, NC
Posts: 536
check all of your grounds.. I had similar problems recently and it was just a ground wire that had come loose. Common grounds are found on the firewall and on the front quarter panel mounting bolts under the hood. Hope you find the problem.
__________________
'01 4runner Limited 4x4
'99 4runner Limited 4x4 w/ E-Locker SOLD
'96 4runner Limited 4x4 SOLD


SE4RJ - Pics
ASU4runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 11:55 AM   #7
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
Randomness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 1,385
Send a message via AIM to Randomness
Is there any way to know if it has an engine immobilizer? Thanks for the help guys, keep it coming. I'm going to try and check things out, I wish I had some earplugs...
__________________
95 3.slow SR5 4runner
160K miles | 32's | OME | Optima | Husky | dechromed
| ryan |

My Photography
Blog
Randomness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 01:09 PM   #8
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
Randomness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 1,385
Send a message via AIM to Randomness
Okay, here's some pics of the alarm. It's not factory...

Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.

So I unplugged the black box thing in the last pic, and the alarm no longer goes off. Good. Only problem is now the car won't start. Bad. Is the siren looking thing in the second picture, is that the thing that makes the noise? Can I just disconnect it? I looked on the manufacturers website, for a wiring diagram, but the page for this model is down And the morons don't have contact info for the company.

Can anyone tell me how to get my rig running again? I gotta go to work in the morning! Help!
__________________
95 3.slow SR5 4runner
160K miles | 32's | OME | Optima | Husky | dechromed
| ryan |

My Photography
Blog
Randomness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 01:23 PM   #9
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
dibble9012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,748
Send a message via AIM to dibble9012 Send a message via Skype™ to dibble9012
well for the engine immobilizer, there should be some really heavy gauge wire going to the ignition from the alarm. It could either be soldered, or hopefully, its just a t harness or something like that. If there is an extra harness at the ignition, unplug it, unplug the OEM harness from the other harness, then connect the OEM one to the ignition. Hope this helps you out. Can you get some pics of the ignition area? Ok, i just thought of something else, it looks like theres some heavier than normal gauge wire coming off of the horn, maybe, ive never heard of this before, but just maybe if the alarm is tripped, it cuts off the positive circuit to the car? I know it sounds far fetched, but i just dont see the need for that heavy gauge wire going to the horn. That could also explain why everything in your car is reset after the alarm goes off. Could you get some closer pics of the horn area/battery area?

Last edited by dibble9012; 05-17-2005 at 01:24 PM.
dibble9012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 02:38 PM   #10
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
Randomness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 1,385
Send a message via AIM to Randomness
Click the image to open in full size.

Could those circled connectors be some kind of kill switch or something? The color on their wires matches the wires coming out of the alarm black box. I don't know if this helps, but with the alarm unplugged, when I try and start it, it just clicks a lot really fast. Does this tell anyone what exactly it's disabling?
__________________
95 3.slow SR5 4runner
160K miles | 32's | OME | Optima | Husky | dechromed
| ryan |

My Photography
Blog
Randomness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 03:49 PM   #11
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
ChaseHeadrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 73
those wires are for the door locks. the blue connector by the round relay in your fuse box is for the parking lights, and if i remember correctly the other blue connector on the black/yellow wire is for the dome light (anyone else?)

try this: since you don't want the alarm anyway, cut all the wires going to the harness for the alarm, except the red and black ones. plug the alarm back in. then try to start your car. probably didnt work. then just try reconnecting wires individually (reconnect one wire, try to start it, if it doesn't work dissconnect the wire and try a different one). if you get to a wire and the car starts, trace that wire back to where ever it goes (probably up by your key?) and then shoot some pics and repost. hope that helps.
__________________
Chase Headrick
1996 LX450 Lockers, OME lift, 285 toyo's, and leather seats!
1985 SR5 xtra cab 3" springs, 2" BL, 35"x13.5" toyo m/t's on 15x10 steelies (more to come!)
1983 Toyota Starlet (DD)
1993 4Runner (sold)

Last edited by ChaseHeadrick; 05-17-2005 at 03:54 PM.
ChaseHeadrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 10:15 PM   #12
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4
Randomness,
Looking at the pics, the alarm seems to be an Avital, which is made by Clifford electronics (they are almost the same things but the cliffords usually had more options). I used to have a Clifford alarm and they have a toggle switch which you can put the alarm into "Valet" mode. When it is in this mode the alarm doesn't go off and the starter kill or immobilizer is not functional. To enter this mode, put your key and turn it to the "on" position and then flip the switch to the up or down for 2-3 seconds (can't remember which way it is but try one way and then the other if it doesn't work). It should beep and then that means your in valet mode. If you have an LED that is hooked up to the alarm it will be glow constantly to let you know you are in valet mode. If you can get into this mode your problems should be solved with the alarm.

I agree with Yota4runner about the bad battery or charging system causing your HU problems. My Clifford alarm would go crazy when my battery was going bad. Somehow, the sirens would sound when I was trying to start my car and then the inside lights would flash weakly. When I replaced my battery everything went back to normal. Good luck
__________________
My Ride:
2003 4Runner V8 SR5
Alpine 9835 CD player
Clifford alarm with RS

Waiting to be installed:
Focal K2P mids and highs
Audison and Fosgate Amps
kujayhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 10:15 PM
Yotatech
4WD Truck




Paid Advertisement
Reply

Tags
alarm, blink, car, clicks, flash, hard, headlights, horn, lights, mode, put, start, tacoma, toyota, truck, valet

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dash Lights Blinking W/ Turn Signals? Geographeen 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 8 07-11-2007 11:44 AM
Hard starting b82ta3 84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 0 08-16-2006 09:37 PM
stereo shuts off/back on randomly outdoorfever Vehicle Audio & Home Entertainment 8 11-02-2005 07:47 PM
Hard starting, what could it be? 4RUNR 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 12 06-26-2003 05:19 PM
LED lights cause rapid blinking? Plamar 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 12 05-06-2003 01:51 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:28 AM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.