Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Found E-Locker, looks rough. Need advice

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2007, 04:44 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Found E-Locker, looks rough. Need advice

So I found a 3rd member from a '99 Taco the guy says its all in great working condition, but I'm new to the whole gear thing, frankly, they kinda scare me. I'm worried i'm going to mess something up and just cause myself to spend even more money to fix it. He lives about 2 hours away so probably dont want to drive down and back just to see it, but may have to. He sent me some pics last night and I attached them below (sorry they are small had trouble getting them down to a size that would fit on yotatech).

Anyway, I guess what I would like to know is:
1) Is it even usable?

2) if so, how much work is involved? solvants, grinding, rebuilding? Would I have to press bearings to disassemble it? Would I even have to disassemble it?

3) is the actuator on there and what is the likelyhood it still works? (not sure what it even looks like, I was imagining something larger on the outside but just see the plugins for wiring harness) Would I be able to touch a battery to two of the terminals and see if it works?

4) What would you say is a 'good price' for one in this condition?

5) What is the likelyhood these gears are 4.10's?

6) Are you tired of my silly questions or have any other helpful info?

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails Found E-Locker, looks rough. Need advice-diff1.jpg   Found E-Locker, looks rough. Need advice-diff2.jpg   Found E-Locker, looks rough. Need advice-diff3.jpg  
Old 07-31-2007, 05:12 AM

Originally Posted by Wazioc