Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Failed emission (88 4runner V6)

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2005, 05:35 PM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Failed emission (88 4runner V6)

Last week I failed the emissions portion of my inspection in VA. The reason it failed was the NOx was over the limit in both the 15 and 25 mph readings:

15mph (limit/reading) (1046/1284): 25mph (limit/reading) (956/2237)

From reading on the forums, especially this thread:

https://www.yotatech.com/forums/show...led+inspection

From reading the above thread I think the problem may be with my EGR system as well. After looking at my truck again to check all hoses and connections, I noticed that there is an area where it looks like something was connected and now isn't. The inside of this hole is threaded also. Below is a pic of what I'm trying to explain.

I am relatively new to auto repair but I enjoy it a lot and bought this truck as a way to learn a bit more. I have the Chiltons and Haynes repair manuals but haven't been able to find any info as to what if anything attaches to this and where it goes. Please help.

Last edited by geoduke; 08-23-2005 at 05:36 PM.
Old 08-23-2005, 06:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
That port you have circled is for CA emission spec vehicles. That is for an EGR temp sensor to ensure EGR flow when the system is activated. Federal spec vehicles don't have that sensor. Your vehicle must be a federal spec since yours doesn't have a sensor. You need to go through the diagnostic procedure to verify EGR operation. Also, check your ignition timing to make sure it is not over-advanced or else you'll fail to NOx portion of an emissions check. There are several other common problems that can specifically cause a failure on the NOx emissions. Carbon build-up on the pistons, O2S, low fuel pressure, or a bad catalytic converter can cause this problem too.
Old 08-24-2005, 12:31 PM