Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Downey Headers

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2003, 06:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Downey Headers

I've been looking at Downey Off-Road's products for some time now, namely their headers. I've found em for sale online for $415, and being a college student working a part-time job I am really concerned in getting the most for my money. I won't be able to afford Downey's cat-back kit for some time after the headers if I do go with them, so my other question is will I be able to install the headers to the stock exhaust (sans the exhaust manifolds, obviously)? Also, is this a good idea? Is there a cheaper/better way to go? I'm relatively new to the world of engines and mechanics.

Thanks,
Old 02-06-2003, 07:24 PM
CTB

I would do both at the same time if I were you.

I would go to a custom exhaust shop and have them rig up a cat-back system for you. That will more than likely be cheaper than the Downey system. And I know what you mean about saving money (I'm in college too... )
Old 02-06-2003, 07:36 PM

From what I have read, the headers can be a HUGE pain if you don't have at least a 1" body lift, and the crossover pipe is a pain to take off as well. I think off-road.com's Toyota section has a writeup of the install by Scott Wilson on his '89 4runner... Either that site or 4x4wire.com

Salue
Old 02-06-2003, 07:45 PM

Hmm, I will have to look into that, I know of a custom exhaust shop that does a lot of performance car exhaust jobs. I was kind of expecting the install job to be a pain in the ass anyway, but hopefully I won't be the one doing it.
Old 02-06-2003, 08:41 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
If I can install the headers, so can you. I'm assuming you have the 3.0? All you need to make the installation a breeze is some PB Rust Penetrant, a good breaker bar to get the nuts off the studs, and a sawzall or some kind of pipe cutting tool.