Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

CV axles need replaced???

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2004, 08:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
CV axles need replaced???

First of all, I drive a 98 Tacoma 4x4 automatic hubs. Anyway, today I notice lots of grease all over my passanger side front wheel well. I walk around to the front and the grease is ALL over everything. Its covering everything, and it seems to be the worst on the axles, on both sides. Im still learning about these things, so I dont know exactly what broke and what needs replaced. I hope someone can diagnose the problem with the poor description I gave, if not Ill try and narrow it down more. Let me know what I need to do. Thanks!
Old 12-30-2004, 08:07 PM
Contributing Member

hey uk!

more than likely, youve torn either one or both cv boots. been doing any hard wheeling lately? check the boots just behind the wheels for rips or tears in the bellows then take a look at the ones closer to the diff. if you dont already have a hayes or chiltons manual, get one and read up on how to replace the boots.

lee
Old 12-30-2004, 08:31 PM

Havent dont any wheeling lately, but I installed some SAW coilovers over the summer and have been paranoid ever since about destroying my CV boots. Ill be amazed if that is the problem because I have had the coilovers on for maybe 8000 miles, and I expected the CV boots to last much longer than that. Im still going to check the boots for any rips or tears tomorrow. If that is the problem, is the solution as simple as replacing the CV boots? Because I have the coilovers, would high angle CV boots be a good idea? I read over on TTORA where the OEM CV boots were thought to be better by some, but they sound like a good idea, so I figured Id get other opinions. Would it be better to replace just the boots, or the entire axle? What is the cost of both? Thanks for the quick reply.

Last edited by UTKtacoma; 12-30-2004 at 08:45 PM.