Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

CV axel boot repair/replace Questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2005, 06:05 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
CV axel boot repair/replace Questions

I've read most of the CV Joint repair/replace threads that I can find on here, 4x4wire and POR.

I've got a '96 SR5 4x4. The passenger side, inner boot has torn just above the smaller clamp around the circumfrence. I think I may have torn it after a trip through a "rock garden" on my last fly-fishing adventure. The joint it self "sounds" intact. The amount of time that the boot may have been torn could be 30-45 days.

I've never done this before. But, I have undertaken some moderate mechanical jobs (shock/struts, timing belt, coil springs, brakes, motor mounts, ect). There is also the issue of finding a 35mm socket and removing/replacing the nut to 174ftlbs with air tools.

So, after perusing all the information. What is the easiest method: repair current axel, replace with Toyota OEM ($400), or replace with Autozone/NAPA axel ($90)?? Are the Autozone/NAPA replacements are good as the OEM parts??

Thanks for advice.
Andrew
Old 07-04-2005, 06:25 AM
Contributing Member

The AutoZone axels are just fine, they're not as strong as the OEM ones but if your not going to be putting them through alot of abuse I wouldn't worry about it. If you have the money then get OEM, but there's nothing wrong with the AutoZone one. I know plenty of people that still wheel on their AutoZone axel w/o any problem. I carry one for my spare.

Last edited by Stump1883; 07-04-2005 at 06:27 AM.
Old 07-04-2005, 08:13 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
You'll do fine... the work is really straight forward. and, thanks for researching first!

First off, do NOT pay the OEM pricing. The Napa/AutoZone is just perfect. I have a Shuck's on my right front and it's great. And $90 is a great price, I think mine was $105 plus a $100 core charge.