YotaTech Forums  

Go Back   YotaTech Forums > Toyota SUV & Truck Tech > 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Welcome to Yotatech!
Welcome to Yotatech,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-20-2007, 05:35 PM   #1
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
ewarnerusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Helena, Montana
Posts: 511
Send a message via Yahoo to ewarnerusa
check engine light after loose gas cap

2003 Tacoma V6 TRD, 39,800 miles.

Last week the check engine light came on. Checked the gas cap first thing and sure enough it was very loose. Says right on the cap that if it isn't tightened, the CEL may come on. Manual says it will reset after several starts. Well, I would say it has been about 10-20 starts and still have the CEL. I'm going to take it in to the dealer to read the codes if it doesn't turn off, but I'm still thinking it is related to the loose gas cap. How many restarts does it take to reset?
This ad is not displayed to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Yotatech!
ewarnerusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2007, 05:47 PM   #2
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
olharleyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: maryland
Posts: 3,601
Pull the pos side battery cable and leave it off for about a min then reconect it should reset the cel then if it comes on again you know its something other then the gas cap. If it comes on again you can take it to autozone and they will run the codes for you free that way you don't have to pay the stearlership 1/2 hour labor rate or you can go there knowing already what the scanner tells you and see how honest they are with you.
__________________
1990 4 runner 5 Speed
Pro Comp Stage II 4" Lift 6" coils rear
Aussie Locker front
5.29's Front And Rear
35 x 12.5 x 15 MT's Micky Thompson Classic II Wheels
Super Charged 3.4 on the way

1993 SAS 4runner 22re 5 speed
4" front 5"rear
5.29's
35 x 12.5 BFG KM'S
Dick cepek DC 1's

88 stock 4runner
3.0 auto
for now




Last edited by olharleyman; 08-20-2007 at 05:51 PM.
olharleyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 05:02 AM   #3
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
ewarnerusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Helena, Montana
Posts: 511
Send a message via Yahoo to ewarnerusa
I was hoping to have it reset itself before pulling the battery terminal. I hate the reprogramming of my stereo afterwards. But that's a good idea, thanks.
ewarnerusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 05:13 AM   #4
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
04 Rocko Taco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,047
Sometimes it takes a certain number of starts, or a certain cycle of things after the gas cap is tight.....I dont remember, I know it took almost a full week (including a fill up) in our 06 Tundra.
__________________
-Chris Tread Lightly!

04 Double Cab PreRunner. 3.4 - Auto
84 4Runner 4WD. 22R - 5 spd Lifted, Locked, 33x12.50

Disclaimer:My Photobucket is being revamped. If there are broken links, shoot me a PM. Thanks. ~Chris


Great Toyota Tech
04 Rocko Taco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 05:21 AM   #5
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
ewarnerusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Helena, Montana
Posts: 511
Send a message via Yahoo to ewarnerusa
Quote:
Originally Posted by 04 Rocko Taco View Post
Sometimes it takes a certain number of starts, or a certain cycle of things after the gas cap is tight.....I dont remember, I know it took almost a full week (including a fill up) in our 06 Tundra.
OK, that is a response I was hoping for! Like my original post said, the manual says "several" restarts to reset it. Pretty vague, I just think of less than 10 when I read several. It has been over a week for me, with a tank refill. The truck got 18 mpg on the last tank with the light on for about a third of it. I honestly don't drive the truck all that much, my bicycle is my daily driver. So I probably have less than the average number of starts per timeframe.
ewarnerusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 06:01 AM   #6
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
WATRD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Duvall, WA
Posts: 5,089
To reset that particular sensor, you need to draw a vacuum, then allow it to bleed off a few times. It's not the number of starts as such, it's that the sensor has been able to verify the integrity of the fuel system by seeing it generate and hold a vacuum. That's how the vapor recovery system works.

Just keep the cap tight and drive normally for a while and it will reset.
__________________
-Rob
Slightly Modified 2001 Tacoma - WATRD.COM
WATTORA is now NWToys!
Tread Lightly! certified Tread Trainer

Search 100+ Toyota tech sites, including this one: All Toyota Search Engine
WATRD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 06:59 AM   #7
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
ewarnerusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Helena, Montana
Posts: 511
Send a message via Yahoo to ewarnerusa
Quote:
Originally Posted by WATRD View Post
To reset that particular sensor, you need to draw a vacuum, then allow it to bleed off a few times. It's not the number of starts as such, it's that the sensor has been able to verify the integrity of the fuel system by seeing it generate and hold a vacuum. That's how the vapor recovery system works.

Just keep the cap tight and drive normally for a while and it will reset.
Thanks WATRD. I haven't posted on this forum in ages, but I remember your truck from back when I was glued to this site!
ewarnerusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 08:12 AM   #8
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
WATRD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Duvall, WA
Posts: 5,089
I thought I hadn't seen you around for a while. Welcome back!
__________________
-Rob
Slightly Modified 2001 Tacoma - WATRD.COM
WATTORA is now NWToys!
Tread Lightly! certified Tread Trainer

Search 100+ Toyota tech sites, including this one: All Toyota Search Engine
WATRD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 08:19 AM   #9
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
ewarnerusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Helena, Montana
Posts: 511
Send a message via Yahoo to ewarnerusa
Quote:
Originally Posted by WATRD View Post
I thought I hadn't seen you around for a while. Welcome back!
Thank you for the welcome back! My mountain bike has taken over my life, the truck is just transportation now. The only thread I have contributed to is "Bikey Photos"
ewarnerusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 08:38 AM   #10
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
WATRD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Duvall, WA
Posts: 5,089
Well, we are still here. The cast of characters has evolved over time, but after changes upon changes, we are more or less the same.
__________________
-Rob
Slightly Modified 2001 Tacoma - WATRD.COM
WATTORA is now NWToys!
Tread Lightly! certified Tread Trainer

Search 100+ Toyota tech sites, including this one: All Toyota Search Engine
WATRD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 08:08 AM   #11
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
ewarnerusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Helena, Montana
Posts: 511
Send a message via Yahoo to ewarnerusa
Update:

Thanks olharleyman for the advice to hit up Autozone, I had no idea they would read my codes. The code was P0446, and the shop guy said there were 6 of them(?) He did say that seems like a gas cap issue, but if it comes back on blah blah blah..... He let me clear the codes and I am much relieved to have gotten rid of the CEL.
ewarnerusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 08:52 AM   #12
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
monst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 103
i recently lost my gas cap. would it cause noticeable problems with the performance of the engine?
__________________
1995 Toyota 4runner, 3.4 5VZ-FE engine swap, 1gen supercharger, URD 7th Injector kit, URD pully, SASed, bud built crossmember, sliders.
monst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 08:52 AM
Yotatech
4WD Truck




Paid Advertisement
Reply

Tags
2002, 2004, afer, cap, check, engine, gas, gascap, light, loose, loosegascapcheckenginelight, miss, open, sequoia, tacoma, toyota

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did bad Gas cause this Check Engine Light? rdiggidy 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 10 06-22-2007 03:15 AM
Swamper TSL's and a loose gas cap trd_kid84 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 5 03-29-2006 07:26 AM
Engine Miss/Check engine light - Possibly TPS? Extremesolo 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 2 09-17-2005 08:58 PM
loose gas cap = better mileage? (kinda long) Tofer 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 31 12-01-2004 06:01 AM
Check engine light re: gas cap allicat 99+ Tundra, 00+ Sequoia, 98+ Land Cruiser/LX470 5 09-17-2002 11:13 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:33 PM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.