CD Deck install issues - YotaTech Forums


Go Back   >


95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners
Sponsored by:
Click Here

CD Deck install issues

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-03-2013, 09:13 AM   #1
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 23
CD Deck install issues

Mods please move if posted in wrong forum


I inherited kind of a mess from the previous owner, I am swapping the cd deck, my problems is my new deck has 2 outputs (left and right) There are currently 4 speaker wires (fronts and rears, im assuming) when the fronts are hooked up it sounds great, but obviously the rears are dead, when I hook up the rears it sounds awful and I get a bad humming noise. I have read several reccommendations about bypassing the stock amp but idk how to actually do this.

When I disconnect one of the bottom wires on the amp(the one closest to the passenger side) the radio wont power on at all.

Anyone else had issues similar to this?

Thanks


97 4runner
hmmhoyhoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 06:19 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Cal01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: San Gabriel Valley
Posts: 169
no but why use the rear speakers anyways?

use the 2 fronts and a rear sub and you're good.
Cal01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 09:15 AM   #3
Registered User
 
EmtLawson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 9
The new cd deck should have wiring for 4 speakers. I'd probably just run new speaker wire to all 4 speakers off of it. If you still get feedback consider a ground loop isolator.
EmtLawson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 03:35 PM   #4
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmtLawson View Post
The new cd deck should have wiring for 4 speakers. I'd probably just run new speaker wire to all 4 speakers off of it. If you still get feedback consider a ground loop isolator.

Yeah I think thats one of the biggest issues, got the deck as a gift and it only has 1 set of outputs.

One thing that is still throwing me though is how you actually "bypass the amp" I have the main line coming out of the top of the amp and 2 clips in the bottom of the amp. If I disconnect the bottom line closest to the passengers side I get nothing. So when its bypassed what actually do you disco?
hmmhoyhoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 06:19 PM   #5
Registered User
 
EmtLawson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 9
You do not need the RCA outputs for the speakers. In the wire harness should be 4 sets of wires a positive and negative wire for each speaker. Straight wire those to the speakers. That will bypass the factory amplifier
EmtLawson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 04:15 PM   #6
Registered User
 
r34sklnnsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: N. GA
Posts: 20
Get yourself a wiring harness adapter kit. I used the Scosche TA02B got it off Ebay for $4.20 with free shipping . It plugs into the the wires that go into the AMP and bypass it, it has all the connections you need.
r34sklnnsn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 07:00 PM   #7
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Nuthuts96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Shelburne, VT previous: Everett, WA; Bellingham, WA
Posts: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by r34sklnnsn View Post
Get yourself a wiring harness adapter kit. I used the Scosche TA02B got it off Ebay for $4.20 with free shipping . It plugs into the the wires that go into the AMP and bypass it, it has all the connections you need.
^this.
cleanest, easiest, cheapest way to install aftermarket deck in vehicle.
Nuthuts96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 10:48 AM   #8
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 23
Thanks for all the help guys, I went out and picked up the harness and wired everything up but of course still problems.

I have totally taken out the stock amp and ran the new harness to the deck but now I cant even get the deck to power on. I checked the acc fuse and the deck fuse and there both good. I wired up the old cd deck and that wont power up either.

Just so im clear, the wider clip is power,ground,remote/antenna and the yellow(cant think of what that was of the top of my head) and the smaller clip is speakers.

Anybody???? Thanks
hmmhoyhoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 01:55 PM   #9
Registered User
 
r34sklnnsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: N. GA
Posts: 20
The wire's have what they are printed on them.
r34sklnnsn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 03:15 PM   #10
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 23
Nevermind guys I figured it out. Thanks for all the help
hmmhoyhoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Icentropy's $400 4runner build icentropy 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 13 06-13-2016 09:12 AM
87 22r rebuild issue bigjstang 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 10 06-10-2016 06:15 PM
22re complete exhaust: please advise tj884Rdlx Newbie Tech Section 25 08-28-2015 12:04 PM
CODE issue. SOS HELP! raptor510 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 14 07-31-2015 04:38 PM
Questions about installing a new 3.0 Coreyr384 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2 07-10-2015 11:13 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:12 PM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.