Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Canada spec 4Runner questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2005, 07:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Canada spec 4Runner questions

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie here... nice to meet you all.

I live in Canada and plan to buy a 2005 4Runner Limited very soon. After some research, I discovered that the US spec has more options, like 4x2 V6, 4x4 V6, 4x2 V8, 4x4 V8... etc.

In Canada, basically only have 2 options: V6 or V8. However, V6 limited has a Part-Time w/Multi-Mode One-Touch 4WD System, but for V8 is running Full-time 4WD.

I am wondering about the "Part-Time" one touch 4WD system. Some tech person told me that this PT 4WD is actually running 2WD. When you're stucked, then press the button to get 4WD... The most important, it is not recommanded to run 4WD at all time. Is this true?

How does this PT one touch system compared with the full-time 4WD, which one is better?

My intention is to have good 4WD system (I don't think I need 2WD for a 4Runner)... however, I am a little bit concern about the gas comsuming on V8. The best would be V6 and have full-time 4WD... too bad we don't have this in Canada.

I know there're many knowledgable person in this forum... please give me some suggestion....

Thanks a lot
Old 04-13-2005, 10:26 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Part time systems have been in Toyota trucks and 4runners since their inception into the North American 4 wheel drive market. They are the reason these vehicles have become known as stock prodiguous 4 wheel drive vehicles. So consider this as well but...

In terms of the traditional part time 4 wheel drive system versus a full time 4 wheel drive system, well first I need to offer you a description of each to explain the why there isn't much benefit from a wheelin standpoint from one to the other, really.

Part time wheel drive system: